Newbie question-how to - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-27-2005, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
michelle911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to the whole dvr/tivo etc....

I have Directv service, my TV is an RCA F38310 Digital TV/HDTV/DTV receiver (built-in). I do not subscribe to the HDTV services. My tv has regular rca jacks, s-video, component video hookups, and anntena coaxial jacks.

My question is, how do I record programs from the tv? My VCR no longer records because the tv is digital. Will a basic dvr do it or do I need to get an HD recorder? Or do I need something else? I just don't want to buy something and find out it won't work.

Thanks in advance,
Michelle
michelle911 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-28-2005, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michelle911
I am new to the whole dvr/tivo etc....

I have Directv service, my TV is an RCA F38310 Digital TV/HDTV/DTV receiver (built-in). I do not subscribe to the HDTV services. My tv has regular rca jacks, s-video, component video hookups, and anntena coaxial jacks.

My question is, how do I record programs from the tv? My VCR no longer records because the tv is digital. Will a basic dvr do it or do I need to get an HD recorder? Or do I need something else? I just don't want to buy something and find out it won't work.

Thanks in advance,
Michelle
I am not quite sure I understand...

You have Direct TV service but not HD right? So recording from Direct TV should be no problem. Just use the standard A/V outputs connected to your VCR.

Do you receive your local channels through Direct TV or through an antenna connected directly to your TV?

If you get them through Direct TV then use the same method as above.

If you get them from a separate antenna, connect that antenna to the VCR and use the VCR's tuner to record the analog channels your local stations are still broadcasting.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-28-2005, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
michelle911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My local channels are through Directv. I can't record via the VCR because the signal is still digital. I can watch vcr tapes, but nothing records. It even states in the manual that vcr's cannot record on this tv.

I'm assuming I have to have that elliptical dish for HDTV, which I don't have, mine is the regular round dish. So I don't think I'm getting programs in high def.
michelle911 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 10-28-2005, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michelle911
My local channels are through Directv. I can't record via the VCR because the signal is still digital. I can watch vcr tapes, but nothing records. It even states in the manual that vcr's cannot record on this tv.
The TV really has nothing to do with VCR recording if all your channels come from the Direct TV box.

What model Direct TV box do you have?

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-01-2005, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
michelle911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The directv receiver is built into the tv itself. I believe it is the DCT100. So there are no "out" coaxial jacks.
michelle911 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-01-2005, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michelle911
The directv receiver is built into the tv itself. I believe it is the DCT100. So there are no "out" coaxial jacks.

I have never heard of a TV with a built in Direct TV receiver.

What brand and model is the TV?
(Nevermind)

I just Googled a few sets with built in Direct TV tunners.

They are nice but as you have found out there is no video or RF output in these sets.

Your cheapest soultion would be to buy a used Direct TV box and use it for your VCR recording.

Direct TV charges $5 a month to have the same package mirrored to a second box.

Plus this would give you the added advantage of being able to record one program while watching a different one.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-01-2005, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
michelle911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did not think about doing that. I do have another receiver that I disconnected from the tv the RCA replaced. But I think I read somewhere that you have to have the tv switched to the input channel to get the signal from an attached device. So I wouldn't be able to watch a different program if that's the case. I wonder about the RGB input, if the same is true with it. There has to be something (DVD recorder, DVR, etc) other than the DTV Tivo box that will work with this tv.
michelle911 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-01-2005, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I forgot to ask if you have a dual feed dish setup?

Is your dish installed with two coax cables ran from it so it can be used with two receivers?

If it was installed with in the last few years chances are it has a dual LNB but may or may not have both cables ran inside the house unless it was bought with multipule reveivers.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-01-2005, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
michelle911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is dual lnb and I also have a 4-way splitter box attached.
michelle911 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-01-2005, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michelle911
It is dual lnb and I also have a 4-way splitter box attached.
Good, then you are ready.

Leave the TV connection to the dish as it is.

Connect the old DTV receiver to the other dish cable.

Connect the DTV receivers audio and video (A/V) output to the VCR's A/V input

Connect the VCR's A/V output to one of the TV's A/V inputs.

Note: You could use RF for this but A/V will give you a better picture

Now set the VCR to use its video input

Somewhere on your TV's remote you should be able to select what input you are watching.

Select the A/V input to watch the signal from the VCR. This should be the old DTV box's output passed through the VCR. This will be your "recording" unit.

To record a show you will have to set the old DTV box to the channel you want to record and record it with the VCR just like normal.

Now you do not have to watch that show while you record it. You can use the TV remote to set the TV to the standard built in tunner and watch something else while the VCR is recording.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off