TiVO or Comcast DVR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2005, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
darylstacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently using Cox DVR and love it....just saw where its now possible to record shows via the internet using TiVO....what experiences do any of you have with either one? We will be moving to a Comcast area on Dec 15th and I like to be able to make an informed decision...thanks for any advice!!!
darylstacy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2005, 08:18 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by darylstacy
Currently using Cox DVR and love it....just saw where its now possible to record shows via the internet using TiVO....what experiences do any of you have with either one? We will be moving to a Comcast area on Dec 15th and I like to be able to make an informed decision...thanks for any advice!!!
This will most likely get a lot more answers in some sort of Tivo forum . . . . :p

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:32 AM
Member
 
cjb101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters
This will most likely get a lot more answers in some sort of Tivo forum . . . . :p

I'm considering the same question...and I have a feeling the Tivo-staffed forum will be a little biased. Anyone have Comcast?
cjb101 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
wiz0fahs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both a TIVO (bedroom viewing) and a Comcast DVR (living room). There are pros and cons to each. The TIVO (standalone) does not record HD programming while the Comcast box does. The HD content would be lost, so if it's important to you to be able to watch programming in HD, then you should go with the Comcast DVR. The TIVO software and functionality is light years ahead of the DVR box. There are many features that make TIVO much more user friendly ("To Do List" for one, "Favorites" designation/search functionality for another) that are utterly lacking in the DVR box. TIVO has to be connected to a phone line while the DVR doesn't need a phone conection.

PM me if you want to discuss more.
wiz0fahs is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:21 PM
Member
 
kgforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would suggest trying the Comcast DVR first. It won't cost you anything but another $10 (or whatever) per month to try it out. If you like it (I do) then you don't need to spend any money buying a Tivo box).

And didn't I read somewhere that Comcast is working with Tivo on some upcoming products? I think Comcast will be offering Tivo in the next year or two.
kgforce is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:35 PM
Member
 
3Series's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Tivo Series 2 and a Motorola 6412 from RCN cable.
You do not need a phone line if you connect your Tivo to a broadband connection.


Motorola 6412
- Dual Tuners
- HDTV Recording including 5.1 Sound
- Pay-Per View Shows
- Channel Guide is faster/better than Tivo
- Overall user Interface is terrible compared to Tivo.
- My 6412 claims to be ablt to record 20 hrs of HD or 90 hours of SD
- I'm unable to find a 30 sec skip capability (biggest pet peeve and may force me to return the box, this is my main reason for a DVR. It saves a ton of time)

Tivo Series 2
- 30 Sec Skip is great
- User Interface is light years as someone said ahead of anything out there
- Records shows automatically based on my preference
- Places different episodes of the same show into folders for organization
- I can wirelessly stream pictures and music to my HT/stereo
- I can transfer shows to my computer and watch them on a plane or burn them to DVD (transfer is really slow)
- Much easier to record season passes as more information is sent to the Tivo box
- Software upgrades occur a lot
- I have a 40 hr Tivo, but they are easy and cheap to upgrade to more hours
- Record shows through the internet (Yahoo or the Tivo website, great for when you are at work)

Comparing the two:
There are only tow advantages of a cable DVR is
1.) HDTV recording including 5.1 sound
2.) Dual Tuner (record one show, watch another at the same time)

Tivo has 50x the advantages.

I can't wait until Tivo releases a CableCard HD Box...

I don't work for Tivo or have any associations with them.


-
3Series is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:10 PM
Member
 
kgforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Series
- I'm unable to find a 30 sec skip capability (biggest pet peeve and may force me to return the box, this is my main reason for a DVR. It saves a ton of time)

Comparing the two:
There are only tow advantages of a cable DVR is
1.) HDTV recording including 5.1 sound
2.) Dual Tuner (record one show, watch another at the same time)
You can easily program your 6412 remote to have a 30 second skip. Search this forum or Google it to find the steps.

I would add a few other advantages to a cable DVR:

3.) No capital expense. You pay less than what you would for Tivo for the service, and you don't have to buy a box. You can return the box at anytime if you don't like it, or want to get the newer box whenever they come out.
4.) Native recording of digital channels (not just HD).
5.) Simplicity of connecting the unit.
6.) Cable DVRs aren't going away (Tivo seems to be struggling).
kgforce is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 12:11 PM
Member
 
3Series's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes you are correct about the 30sec skip. I forgot the post is about Comcast's DVR.

Ihave RCN, they provide a Synergy 5 remote with no Setup button so the 30 sec skip is not avail for me. I've read this is similar to some other cable providers.

I have a friend with Comcast and we enabled the 30sec skip. Since I use a Universal remote, I am going to go to his house, copy the IR code, and see if it works on my box.


3.) No capital expense. You pay less than what you would for Tivo for the service, and you don't have to buy a box. You can return the box at anytime if you don't like it, or want to get the newer box whenever they come out.

This is true, I forgot about buying the box. Although the 40hr is now only $50.
However, for me Tivo service is cheaper at $12.95/month compared to my Cable DVR at $14.95+ taxes. But cable prices vary for everyone.


4.) Native recording of digital channels (not just HD).

This is also true, SD is better through a digital box than analog.

5.) Simplicity of connecting the unit.

I don't agree with this, but if you are comparing a single HDMI or a L,R Video cord, I guess it is simpler, but not really.

6.) Cable DVRs aren't going away (Tivo seems to be struggling)

This is why you should get a Tivo, so we can save the company!!! ha.

Either way, there are lots of pros/cons. Good Luck
3Series is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 02:52 PM
GQB
Member
 
GQB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
- I'm unable to find a 30 sec skip capability (biggest pet peeve and may force me to return the box, this is my main reason for a DVR. It saves a ton of time)

Comcast DVR has both a 30 sec forward skip and a 15 second back skip.
The funny thing is that I didn't find the 15 second back until I downloaded a set of Motorola controls from RemoteCentral for my universal remote.

Seems to me that the 30 second skip was available on the standard remote tho'.
GQB is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 03:02 AM
Senior Member
 
cwerdna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GQB
- I'm unable to find a 30 sec skip capability (biggest pet peeve and may force me to return the box, this is my main reason for a DVR. It saves a ton of time)

Comcast DVR has both a 30 sec forward skip and a 15 second back skip.
The funny thing is that I didn't find the 15 second back until I downloaded a set of Motorola controls from RemoteCentral for my universal remote.

Seems to me that the 30 second skip was available on the standard remote tho'.
Uhh.. part of the difference might be that you and the other poster may have TOTALLY different DVRs also possibly running totally different software. See http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=662673.

Yours is probably running iGuide, but you should confirm.. I have no idea what 3Series is running.

Comcast seems to have 3 main types floating around (http://www.comcast.com/dvrselect/), Motorola boxes running iGuide, Motorola boxes running MSTV (in Seattle/Spokane area) and Scientific Atlanta boxes running what looks like SARA.
cwerdna is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off