moto 6412 help!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-27-2005, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
seanm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone please help a newbie record to DVD from my cox 6412 DVR??

Is there a simple way of doing this and is there a simple way of recording directly from the drive on the DVR to a PC?? I am not an expert. I just want to be able to access the data for my own use.

PLEASE HELP!!!! :confused: :confused:

Seanm2
seanm2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-28-2005, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
edklite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
grab your self an INVERTED TORX screw driver, open box copy the dvr hd to your hd. you won't be able to view it like that tho (well i think)
edklite is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-29-2005, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by edklite
grab your self an INVERTED TORX screw driver, open box copy the dvr hd to your hd. you won't be able to view it like that tho (well i think)
Say WHAT!!!, You cant just grab the hard drive and hook it into a winblows based machine, it wont recognize it, with linux you can, but there's easier ways like coping thru firewire to a HTPC of the easiest way is hook up a Dvd recorder thru s-vid and record your shows that way........that is the easiest less hassle way!
Bud-man is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-29-2005, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
seanm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks guys but Od rsther not open up yje box.
Id like to;
1- record to the DVD recorder (answered)

2- download the movie files from the DVR HD to my PC

not sure why anyone would want to remove the HD from the box anyway?

seanm2

PS COX says the fire wire ports are disabled!! is that true? why the heck are they there and what the heck good is the USB port for???????
seanm2 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-29-2005, 08:19 PM
Newbie
 
edklite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you can copy any hd to any other hd, and windows never even comes to play.

why copy to another drive? to save space on the dvr hd.

copying a dirve is much faster then recording or burnning thur an s-video, not to mention you are not getting no hd quality with s-video

without removing the hd from the box how else would you access its content?

as for the ports and etc. your cable company disabled them so you could not transfer the files you have saved on the dvr.
edklite is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-30-2005, 02:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can transfer thru FIREWIRE to a pc, lot's of info on that in this forum!!
HERE
Bud-man is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-30-2005, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
seanm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Guys!
seanm2 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-01-2005, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
seanm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I got the video feed to record on my laptop, BUT
1- there is no sound, and 2- it plays back at double speed.

does anyone know what setting I can change to make the recording worth the effort??? (Im using capdvhs3066)

ps the instructions were great! I just need to tweak it !!!!!

sm
seanm2 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-28-2005, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
IT-Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by edklite
you can copy any hd to any other hd, and windows never even comes to play.
do tell ;)
IT-Geek is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off