Help! Can I use PVR as a player only? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-04-2005, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rob in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm switching to cable from DirecTV in a couple of days. Cablevision is of course providing their own DVR. I have a bunch of stuff on my DirecTV (Samsung SIR-4120) DVR that I'd like to watch. Will I be able to use this as a player or do I have to spend the next two days burning DVDs? Thanks. Rob
Rob in CT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-04-2005, 12:48 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob in CT
I'm switching to cable from DirecTV in a couple of days. Cablevision is of course providing their own DVR. I have a bunch of stuff on my DirecTV (Samsung SIR-4120) DVR that I'd like to watch. Will I be able to use this as a player or do I have to spend the next two days burning DVDs? Thanks. Rob
It should but try it yourself - just disconnect the DVR's video inputs from the satellite and try to play back your recorded shows and see if it works. It should. I told a friend to take his DirecTV Tivo to a TV store and connect them to various bigscreen TVs to see what his favorite shows look like. He did and it worked.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-04-2005, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rob in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
Rob in CT is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-09-2005, 02:55 PM
Member
 
MGardiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Burtonsville, MD
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rob,
It'll still work. U can still connect it to your TV, u just won't b able to get programming.

MG
MGardiner is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off