Can I use a Hughes Directv HDVR2 for cable (only)? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 01-08-2006, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bob733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Palm City, Fl
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I just cancelled Directv and upped my adelphia cable vision to digital. I have a Hughes Directv hdvr2 receiver left over.

Can I use the hughes as a pass thru (cable only) device and just receive cable. I would like to do this as I could record cable programs on this device.

In addition to the standard Sat in and Sat out, it has Cable in and Cable out.

But so far it is only trying to look for a satilite dish (of which I have none connected now). Any thought how to jury this Hughes Directv hdvr2 to accept cable and record same would be appreciated.

Thanks

Bob

Robert P Wagner
bob733 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 01-08-2006, 01:33 PM
Member
 
TGewin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It can't record anything other than DirecTV programming. It doesn't have an encoder in it. It just records the satellite's digital stream to the hard drive and then decodes it just like any old satellite receiver would. The cable/ant in is only for pass-through if your tv has just one coax input and you're using that for the DirecTivo.
TGewin is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off