D* Dvr R15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-09-2006, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Denman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This device has nothing to do with TIVO, right?

I can simple active this as a receiver and I can record programs? I only pay $4.99 per month - no TIVO fees?
Denman007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-09-2006, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rm -rf *.*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Uberglitch, Switzerland
Posts: 3,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds right. I'd call D*'s 800# to be sure though.

Still no news from New Zealand.
If we ever get any, we'll be sure to let you know.
rm -rf *.* is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-10-2006, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Denman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an additional $4.99 charge per month for the DVR service.
Denman007 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-10-2006, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I believe the DVR service is 5.99/month now.
maharg18 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-02-2006, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Distorted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Antonio, Tx Area
Posts: 1,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I just installed two of the things in my home distribution network mistakenly thinking they were Tivos. Woe is me. Even after reading the instructions (the last thing I do!) I cannot figure out how to record a series, fine tune the recording parameters, etc. The drop down editing menus simply do not appear when I trigger them as directed. :confused:

The devices do not have a default 30 second skip or anything like that, plus when fast forwarding they do not skip back any to compensate for reaction time thus necessitating adjustment to get the full recording of the show. Does anyone know a code that will give the 30 second skip feature, or a forum that deals with this PVR in detail?

Until I can smooth out the R15 I have, I cannot recommend its purchase as they are remarkably inferior to the Tivos I have or an Ultimate TV I replaced with one of the units. :(

.........

"Without music, life would be a mistake." - Friedrich Nietzsche
Distorted is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-02-2006, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Distorted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Antonio, Tx Area
Posts: 1,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 48
In answer to my own question above concerning a forum dedicated to the Direct TV R15 try dbstalk. Apparently no one has a code or fix for the missing 30 skip yet, but a 6 second rewind can be triggered by hitting the rewind button when FFwding.

.........

"Without music, life would be a mistake." - Friedrich Nietzsche
Distorted is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off