Annoying Moto DCT 6412 III - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-14-2006, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
agrips1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay... I recently switched from Directv to Insight Digital Cable. With the digital cable i got HD and a Motorola DCT 6412 III dual tuner DVR. With directv i had a Tivo Directv DVR R10 and a Samsung SIR-TS360 HD receiver. I used tivo to record and the samsung to recieve HD. We got rid of directv because of the fact that we had to use rabbit ears to get local channels in HD. We had insight Digital cable with hd and the dual tuner installed and i absolutely hate the DVR. The menus in the Moto DCT 6412 III are hard to use and it is just annoying overall. Now i was trying to figure out if i could buy a series 2 tivo and use it with the cable. If i do this, how would i continue to get the HD channels? I dont want to switch back to Directv but i dont want to use the Moto DVR........Can anyone help me?
agrips1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-26-2006, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
OutofBand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is just a matter of getting used to a new product. Just give it time.
OutofBand is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-27-2006, 11:53 AM
Member
 
btl-a4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Ramon, CA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Motorola is really a piece of junk. I have comcast, and if you have the digital package they also send the analog package along with it so you should check to see that insight is sending thier analog signal to you as well as the digital. You basically have two choices, split the cable signal and put one into the tivo and one into the Motorola box. Then you can record just High def stuff on the Moto and record everything else on the TiVo. Or you can return the moto DVR get a HD tuner from insight and use the IR blaster to have the TiVo control the HD Tuner. You won't be able to record anything in high-def though. Just watch High-Def live. You will eventually get used to the Moto, I'm starting to not be constanlty annoyed with it.
btl-a4 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-16-2006, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
mm123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Going from Tivo to the DCT 6412, I have to agree as well - the bugs, the user interface, etc. on the 6412 are truly annoying. All is not bad though - the dual HD tuners are nice, and... well the dual HD tuners are nice.

I can't wait for the series 3 Tivo box.
mm123 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-17-2006, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btl-a4
split the cable signal and put one into the tivo and one into the Motorola box. Then you can record just High def stuff on the Moto and record everything else on the TiVo.

That's exactly what I currently have and for now it's my only real option, but as soon as the Series 3 comes out, the Moto goes back to Comcast.
cherry ghost is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-09-2006, 11:36 AM
Member
 
jrgutknecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mm123
Going from Tivo to the DCT 6412, I have to agree as well - the bugs, the user interface, etc. on the 6412 are truly annoying. All is not bad though - the dual HD tuners are nice, and... well the dual HD tuners are nice.

I can't wait for the series 3 Tivo box.
Bugs??? that's putting it mildly. I've tried for two weeks now to get a "series recording" of "Discoveries This Week" and every time I try to add it, the box freezes and locks up. I can record individual episodes, but I can't get a series recording.

oh well... and it just kills me that people think a DVR is a Tivo... if they only knew :(
jrgutknecht is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off