Can't create DVD-R's anymore - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-16-2006, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tlaporte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Toshiba RD-XS32 which I have used several times to burn DVD-R's from programs which I had recorded to the hard drive. The last several times I have tried this, the whole routine looks normal, after the copy it goes into its Finalizing Disk step, completes that, ejects the DVD and asks if I want to make a second copy. Everything is fine. However, when I load that DVD again, it loads for a long time and then says I have inserted a blank disk. That DVD also does not work in other players. Pre-recorded DVD's and DVD's which I have burned before all play fine in it so the problem seems to be in the burning although it completes without indicating any problem. Any ideas? The s/w is ZL10 and the DVD s/w is 1309.
tlaporte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-17-2006, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
filtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have you changed brands of DVD-R stock? How long have you had it - is it worn out? I had an HP burner in my puter that did the same thing - quit burning and would only read... although when mine failed - when inserting a blank disc for recording it kept asking to insert a recordable disc. Figured the laser got weak or out of calibration - replaced it with a newer 16x NEC.
You may try updating your firmware (in case it got corrupted somehow) if that is an option with yours - sorry, not really familiar with your Toshiba model.
filtor is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-18-2006, 05:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tlaporte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. The DVD-R's are out of the same spindle pack that I have been using. The unit is about 2 years old but I have mostly used the hard drive. I have only created about 10 DVD's before but never with any problem.

I have never seen any way to update the firmware for this model anywhere on this forum but I would like to know if that is possible. Does anyone know?
tlaporte is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-21-2006, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
filtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You may try cleaning the laser - maybe it got some debris on it somehow and it's not getting thru to do a proper burn. Just another guess :)
filtor is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off