Do all DVR's display a TV signal at a lesser quality? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-30-2006, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jordanzelda23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my first DVR tonight and hooked it up. I have cable and every channel is considerably less quality than normal. I assume that the DVR is just recording at the lowest quality. There is no way to change the quality on my Motorola Mediacom DVR though. Why is there no option to change the quality?

I may switch to Tivo. Can you Tivo users tell me if the quality is the same as it would be with the cable plugged directly into the TV when on the highest quality level?

I've never heard of this drawback of DVR's. If they are all less quality even on highest quality level, there is no way I am switching. Why would someone want to degrade their picture quality just to pause live TV and record digitally? I wouldn't.
jordanzelda23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-31-2006, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 78
If the DVR is integrated into your DIGITAL cable or satellite receiver, directly receiving and recording the MPEG-2 stream, there is no loss of quality. If the DVR is hooked into the cable or satellite boxes OUTPUT. be it composite, S-video or component, these are analog decodes, and the signal must be re- encoded into MPEG-2 for recording. Hence loss of quality is inevitable with external DVRs, be it TiVo or otherwise.
Bill Ball is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-31-2006, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jordanzelda23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a separate cable box. I had the coax cable plugged directly into the TV before to recieve the cable channels. Now that I have bought the DVR I have the coax plugged directly into it, and then composite cables outputting from it to the TV.

When I switch over to the High Definition channels (through the DVR) they look fine, but the normal cable channels are all compressed and fuzzy and look much worse than if the coax were directly plugged into the TV.

I read a few places that the Motorola DVR that I have records at 3 different settings based on what channel you are watching (worst for normal, middle for digital, and best for high definition). But I don't think there is any way to change it. Why would they not allow you to change it. Shouldn't it be my choice whether I want to record at a higher quality or not?

Is Tivo like this too?
jordanzelda23 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-05-2006, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
OutofBand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The moto DVR boxes are known to have problems with analog channels (usually the channels below 100). Just hope your area moves to all digital soon.
OutofBand is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-20-2006, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew Wolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All DVRs lose quality on analog channels. Some are worse than others.
Andrew Wolfe is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-20-2006, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrMike6by9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lutherville, Maryland
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed a 5-1000 MHz, 3-5dB, 2-way splitter at the wall just before the cable box. When I wish to watch content that's still analog, below channel 100, I use the direct cable link. When I wish to watch the digital tier, I switch to my component inputs from the cable box.

YMMV

"Typos are very important to all written form. It gives the reader something to look for so they aren't distracted by the total lack of content in your writing."

- Randy K. Milholland
MrMike6by9 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off