Personal PVR/ cable provider compatibility - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-11-2006, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rajacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can I use a personal PVR with my local cable service even though they say that it will not work and I have to rent one of their units for compatibility @$20/month?
rajacat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-11-2006, 12:00 PM
Member
 
btl-a4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Ramon, CA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of PVR do you have? Who is your cable provider? It also depends on what you want to record. If you just want to record the analog SD stuff channels 1-99 most PVR's will handle that fine. If you want to record channels higher than that you are at a minimum going to need a cable box that the PVR would be able to control to watch the channels higher than 99.
btl-a4 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-11-2006, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Bob_Williamson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajacat
Can I use a personal PVR with my local cable service even though they say that it will not work and I have to rent one of their units for compatibility @$20/month?
I don't quite get this either....I am looking at getting cable from a small provider (Click Network).

They offer a DVR for $15/month or so.

What I don't get is how a Tivo/other DVR would get the correct channel listings?

I do know a replayTV unit can be used with soem software to roll your own channels...

Bob

Bob Williamson
Bob_Williamson is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-11-2006, 07:31 PM
Member
 
btl-a4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Ramon, CA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Getting the correct channel info is for the most part why you pay TiVo a service fee. To keep track of your channel lineup and what times shows come on in your area. When you run the original setup it asks for your provider, where you live, ect. Then it takes care of it. You may have to use an IR blaster to control the cablebox but other than that it should work fine.
btl-a4 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-11-2006, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rajacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by btl-a4
Getting the correct channel info is for the most part why you pay TiVo a service fee. To keep track of your channel lineup and what times shows come on in your area. When you run the original setup it asks for your provider, where you live, ect. Then it takes care of it. You may have to use an IR blaster to control the cablebox but other than that it should work fine.
Thanks for the reply. I'm I better going with TIVO or using (renting) the cable company's DVR. Millenium is the provider. I don't have a PVR yet so I'm considering the options. Now I have satellite but have been saddled with breakdown fees that they charge to repair their equipment. If I go with cable I will get a package system of minimal TV and high speed internet.
rajacat is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-11-2006, 08:50 PM
Member
 
btl-a4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Ramon, CA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An 80 hour TiVo is going to run about $70 after $150 rebate. Then you have either a $300 lifetime service fee, or a 12.95 a month service fee. TiVo is a far better PVR than most cable systems I've seen. But if your TiVo goes down after your 1 year of warranty is up you gotta pay to fix it yourself. If you want to start recording High Def, your gonna have to sell your TiVo and buy the new HD version. With the cable company you are just renting the box (at least with my provider you are). If it breaks you just go get another one. If you want to upgrade you just bring in the old and get the new. So there are upsides to renting. In my case I have gotten rid of all but one of my TiVo's, which I will probably be selling soon. I am renting a Hi-Def box until the TiVo Series 3 comes out, then I'm going to return the rented box and buy a Series 3. If you are fine with Standard Definition and will stay with it for at least 2 years then buying a TiVo makes sense. If you might go Hi-Def soon you might want to rent till the new TiVo comes out and buy it then.
btl-a4 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-13-2006, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dt_dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btl-a4
Then you have either a $300 lifetime service fee, or a 12.95 a month service fee.
Tivo dropping the lifetime service option this week (or next).

http://www.hometheatermag.com/news/031106tivo/
http://news.designtechnica.com/article9742.html
http://www.engadget.com,%20www.engad...lable-for-now/
etc.
dt_dc is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-08-2006, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
cwerdna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^bump
To the OP, if he still hasn't made up his mind, Tivo has extended the time to get lifetime till 4/15/06 (you have to call them though) and must NOT buy any Tivos w/bundled service including any of the ones on tivo.com.

See the 1st post http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=290723 for all the official details.
cwerdna is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off