Moto 6412 Power Off/Standby Questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-11-2006, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Moebius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Memphis area
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I searched around, but couldn't find anything on this. I picked up a 6412 the other day so I can record some HD programming (keeping TiVo and waiting for Series 3, but needed a stop gap). The box tends to run pretty darn hot, so I've been turning it off at night. I'm assuming with the DVR that this would be more of a standby mode, but figured I'd ask.

Will the 6412 record scheduled items when the power is off? I noticed when I turn it back on, there's no buffer recorded, so I wasn't sure.

Remember, no matter where you go... You're not where you were anymore.
Moebius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-11-2006, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
cwerdna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It might differ depending on who's software is on it? Is yours running iGuide or Passport? (It's unlikely that it's MSTV.)
cwerdna is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-11-2006, 11:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moebius
I searched around, but couldn't find anything on this. I picked up a 6412 the other day so I can record some HD programming (keeping TiVo and waiting for Series 3, but needed a stop gap). The box tends to run pretty darn hot, so I've been turning it off at night. I'm assuming with the DVR that this would be more of a standby mode, but figured I'd ask.

Will the 6412 record scheduled items when the power is off? I noticed when I turn it back on, there's no buffer recorded, so I wasn't sure.

Set something up to record, turn it off, and see what happens. Mine turns itself on and to the proper channel when it's time for a recording.
cherry ghost is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-12-2006, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Moebius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Memphis area
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry ghost
Set something up to record, turn it off, and see what happens. Mine turns itself on and to the proper channel when it's time for a recording.
That was my next step, just figured I see if anyone knew before hand.

Remember, no matter where you go... You're not where you were anymore.
Moebius is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-12-2006, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Andrew Wolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I can tell - not only will the box record when turned off - but it won't even turn off the composite output signal. It just puts out a blank screen.
Andrew Wolfe is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-20-2006, 11:53 PM
Member
 
NickDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are some bugs with this. When it turns itself on to record, it will also turn itself off when it's done. This can be quit annoying if you start to watch tv in mid-record, even using the other tuner, the unit will suddenly turn off. For this reason I keep it on 24/7. This probably kills the life, but I am renting it anyways.
NickDG is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off