Comcast TIVO DVR.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-05-2006, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cableguynoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if this has already been discussed, but just thought I'd throw it out there since there are SOOO many dissatisfied Motorola DVR users....

I while back i heard that Comcast had something in the works with TIVO for them to start making our DVR's....

Last week i confirmed it. I installed one of our DVR's in the home of one of TIVO's emplyees who happens to be working on this project(I live in the bay area where TIVO is based)
She had about 10 Direct tv Tivo's in her entertainment center that she uses for testing and wanted one of our crappy DVR's to check it out.

I talked to her for a while and she said they hope to have it ready by Christmas..although she said not to quote her on that.

Again she didnt promise, but she said she'd be surprised if it didnt have a bigger hard drive than what the Motorolas have.

I know it's still a ways away, but it should at least give us a little hope....those of us who wish we had more HD recording space, and well, a DVR that just works properlly.... :D
cableguynoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-06-2006, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good to hear, but I was hoping for something well before Christmas.
cherry ghost is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-07-2006, 10:40 PM
Senior Member
 
cwerdna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The agreement is at http://investor.tivo.com/EdgarDetail...0231&SID=05-00.

I have no inside info, but whenever it's ready, I wouldn't hold my breath for an immediate nationwide rollout across all of Comcast's market. Just look at what Comcast is shipping now, they have PVRs running iGuide, MSTV and SARA depending on the market. I suspect that it's somewhat tied to the operator for the area as well as some backend server infrastructure.
cwerdna is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-08-2006, 05:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,972
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 156
I just got a Motorola DVR from Comcast..Haven't tried it out yet for recording..

What are the biggest issues I should watch for??

Thanks!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-08-2006, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
csmith75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland
I just got a Motorola DVR from Comcast..Haven't tried it out yet for recording..

What are the biggest issues I should watch for??

Thanks!

I have the Comcast HD DVR (Motorola) and it's loud, runs VERY hot, and occasionally has problems setting up Season Passes. Not to mention some months ago it just stopped working and I had to get another one (lost all my recordings). Its interface can't even begin to compete with the ease of TiVo's.

However, recording HD is great and the dual tuner is heavenly.

As far as the news on the Comcast TiVo deal....I was under the impression we would see something earlier than Christmas. Christmas means 2007 for most markets. :(
csmith75 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-20-2006, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
DiscoTex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thebland: Overheating seems to be a major issue. Be sure you place it in a well ventilated area. Also, on mine, the audio cuts out every now and then and the only way to get it back is to cycle the power by unplugging the unit. And, be prepared for a slow interface that occasionally freezes for a few minutes at a time. It sounds like other people on this forum have had a lot more catastrophics failures that I have... I have only had complete data loss one time in the year I've had it.

That said... I just talked to my local Comcast representative about transferring service to a new location. While on the phone, I asked about the possibility of getting the new Tivo DVR's. She said that she can't guarantee anything and getting the new DVR is kind of "hit-or-miss". However, she did indicate that they are currently being rolled out.

I live in Livermore, CA. (SF Bay Area)
DiscoTex is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-20-2006, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
cwerdna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland
I just got a Motorola DVR from Comcast..Haven't tried it out yet for recording..

What are the biggest issues I should watch for??

Thanks!
What software is running on it? It could be running iGuide or Passport Echo in your area. The other guys who replied might be running something totally different.
cwerdna is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-25-2006, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
drfurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL! Absolutely right this thing runs hot. It fried my dvd player that was sitting on top of it!
drfurst is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off