Recording to DVR from a Security Camera?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-20-2006, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DLP Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just purchased a mini-camera to use like a security/nanny camera in my home while I'm at work. I'd like to record to either my media center PC or my DVR. I can't seem to figure it out?? How would I set up the DVR timing to record the camera output going into the DVR's standard A/V jacks?
Can I have my normal coax cable connection running into my DVR that I record TV programs with, and also have the camera hooked up through a standard A/V(composite) jacks and record what the camera is doing??

I'm sure these are dumb questions, but unfortunately I don't know how to do this?? Any help would be appreciated!! Thanks!
DLP Man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-20-2006, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm not aware of any DVR that supports recording from external video jacks, only from the tuner. You can do it with a PC's video capture card though.
Joxer is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-21-2006, 12:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Why couldn't he record into a standalone, standard def DVR through a line input? Setting the timer on the DVR is relatively easy.

If you're talking about TiVo or a provider's DVR you can't - but why not a Panasonic or Pioneer or another brand?
Rammitinski is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-26-2006, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DLP Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just was informed by Motorola that my DVR will not be able to record from the A/V jacks as I hoped.... software issue! Does anyone know if it's possible for my media center pc to record through it's a/v jacks?? Thanks!
DLP Man is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-31-2006, 09:55 PM
Member
 
h00ligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
we actually use a dvr recorder for security at work.. it has some ups and downs... it also has a burner built in to archive the bookmarked footage. Obviously you don't record continuously but by motion - the dvr would fill fast with fmv... unless you are worried about one source.

If you want the info i can get you the name, it's not a cheap solution but it works well (once properly configured0 on our 12 cam system.
h00ligan is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-01-2006, 10:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Diver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panasonic makes a DVD recorder, will record up to 8 hours on one DVD. Just connect the camera to one of the composite (yellow) inputs, set the recorder to record on the appropriate input channel, schedule the record start & stop times.
Diver is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-02-2006, 08:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
FarmBubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know some web-cam software will do the trick. Haven't used any of them though.
FarmBubba is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off