Buy or rent a DVR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-30-2006, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bulls23337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just wondering if you guys rent out your DVR built-in with your digital cable box or buy your own cable box with built-in DVR, or buy your own seperate DVR. What would you guys recommend? Thanks!
bulls23337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-30-2006, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Nitemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
At $6 a month it is usually much cheaper to just rent a DVR from the cable company.

Most commercial DVR's like TIVO require you to buy the unit for several hundred dollars in addition to paying a monthly fee.
Nitemage is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-30-2006, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bulls23337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i was just browsing some DVR players on ebay and you can buy a DVR for around $200 for a Motorola. you can even buy the same cable boxes with built-in DVRs that the cable companies use for around the same i think. :)

i didnt know Tivo was like that. glad i wasnt looking into those. thanks for the opinion!
bulls23337 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-30-2006, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm pretty sure that you cannot actually use any of those boxes with your cable. You have to use one of theirs.

If you can still find a Sony DHG-HDD500 or 250 DVR/tuner, you can buy one of those and use it. But if you have digital cable or are using a cableCARD, you have to be sure they're still passing along the analog host channel (usually a PBS channel), so that you can get the info for the built-in TV Guide on Screen feature and use it to record.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-31-2006, 12:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yeah watch out for those EBAY cable DVRs, they are usually stolen and won't be authorized by the cable company. Only rented DVRs and cable boxes are authorized by most cable systems. Renting is a better deal anyway considering the hardware can be upgraded rather often and you can just swap for a newer improved model at no extra cost compared to buying what could quickly become an obsolete model.
Joxer is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-31-2006, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Andrew Wolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both.

There is no great answer. The Cable company DVRs have dual tuner - but no capacity. The Sony has 500GB - but a crappy UI and only 1 tuner.
Andrew Wolfe is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-31-2006, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bulls23337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmm, i figured those ebay boxes were stolen lol.

looks like i'll be renting. thanks again guys! :D
bulls23337 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off