Problem with my Comcast Motorola DVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-17-2006, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chibul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Muncie, IN
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this is the right forum for this or not for this.

When I picked up my Comcast DVR, they told me it would hold 60 hours of standard programming or 15 hours of HD programming. I currently have 15 1/2 hours of standard programming stored on it, and it says I'm 48% full. I've found no settings at all for quality of recording. Does anyone know why this would be happening?
chibul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-17-2006, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chibul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Muncie, IN
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone?
chibul is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-18-2006, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chibul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Muncie, IN
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought this forum was supposed to be helpful?
chibul is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-21-2006, 11:31 PM
Newbie
 
Valpojim621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What make and model do you have?
Valpojim621 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-25-2006, 06:51 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chibul
I thought this forum was supposed to be helpful?
This forum can only be helpful if there is an answer to be had. For some things, there simply is no assistance available.

My experience is that the hard drive percent filled number increases less, for each additional hour recorded. That has led me to believe that there is a set amount of the hard drive which is needed for the overhead of the disk OS, but the software is "smart" enough to still show 0% when there are no recordings (probably because some customer whined about it showing 15% filled when there were no recordings).

There are no settings necessary or provided, so don't worry about that.
bicker1 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-26-2006, 07:10 PM
Member
 
skanhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: White Lake, MI 48383
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had a similar issue. I have a 6412, and had a mix of SD and HD recordings that totaled around 78%. I cleared everything out to get back to 0%. I then recorded 2 hours of SD, checked the DVR, and I was at 48% !!!

I did a HDD format overnight: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/How_to_...ola_DVR/Resets

Once it was done, I recorded an hour of SD, and checked the DVR. 8% full.
skanhome is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off