Switching from DirecTV to Comcast (not by choice) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-23-2006, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Schwingding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glen Arm, (Baltimore) MD
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I moved into the woods. Surrounded by giant poplar trees, my DirecTV HD DVRs are no longer functional because I get no decent satellite service.

I am going to have to switch to Comcast.

Do I need to buy their DVR? Do they rent/lease them or are they purchase? Do I have other choices? Any recommendations?

I have learned BOATLOADS about the DirecTV service/DVRs - all worthless knowledge to me, now. I'm so sad, not that I have any great love for DirecTV, but I do like that DVR.

Thank you in advance.
Schwingding is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-23-2006, 06:17 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What do you want to record? If you just are interested in basic cable (analog 2-99) you probably have lots of choices. If you're aiming for digital cable, you just have a few choices: First, you could clear the trees, build a tower, or in some other way get yourself a clear view of the skies, so you can continue with DirecTV. Second, you could go the CableCard route, and use a CableCard capable DVR (such as the TiVo Series 3) with Comcast. Or you can rent Comcast's DVR. Of the three, I suspect the latter is the least expensive.
bicker1 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-23-2006, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Schwingding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glen Arm, (Baltimore) MD
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response. Even though the trees are on my property, I do not want to clear them, it would be quite a clearing, BTW. I live low on the hill that the sat faces. It can hit 101 but not 110 or 119. To raise a mast would require almost 100 feet. No thanks.

I would wish to have the same capabilities I did in my HR10-250. - HD, digital recording.

Both of my TVs have cablecard capability. Never considered that. Anyway, thanks for setting me off in some thinking directions.
Schwingding is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-23-2006, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
JelloMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I reluctantly had to switch from a setup with 3 Series2 DirecTivo's to Comcast and a pair of Motorola 6412's. Needless to say the wife wasn't happy about the switch. She's a HUGE Tivo fan. I'm just looking at picking up a Series 3 for her right now...
JelloMonkey is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-03-2006, 09:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
HT Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Isle of Kent, MD USA
Posts: 1,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well if it isn't jack denise schwingding

Tivo Series 3, go get lifetime on ebay now

Sony Cablecard recorder

And if you got a decent TV with firewire there are a couple alternatives with RCA or DVHS, but DVHS is a PITA as you have to keep changing tapes.

But knowing you, you most likely got some POS plasma or the like.

Jerry the HT Nut
HT Nut is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off