Hard Drive Upgrade on Comcast Moto DCT3416 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 12-02-2006, 12:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
errwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible?

I just subscribed to the comcast box and coming from my Tivo 500hrs box, the Comcast box is extremely small, especially when I start to record HD stuffs

Any idea whether the moto 3416 box can be upgraded?

Can the USB be used to hook up external storage?

I searched the forum and googled everywhere without much success

Helllppp
errwatt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 12-02-2006, 12:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by errwatt View Post

Is it possible?

No.

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 04-16-2007, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up my box and was wondering the same thing. I guess you can't

damn! 120GB is pretty damn small. Was wondering if i can just pop in a 500GB'er
Rob423 is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 04-17-2007, 04:34 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The system itself currently only supports up to 160GB.
bicker1 is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 04-18-2007, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when you say the system, you mean the entire comcast network design?

or the physical hardware within the box will only allow for 160gb?

i did see a box online that says 160.. but the box i got from my comcast was different... it's a silver dct4316 i think? i forgot the number but it's a silver 120GB box.


so far its beautiful tho. i never thought i'd have this much fun with DVR.

Only problem i see so far....is when i change channels... the little info bar on the bottom that lists the time, show name, info, channel ..etc.. that bar shows like 2 times, it like lags or delays and flickers 2 times, it kinda gets annoying. almost like it's slowing down my channel surfing

anyway to maybe fix this?
Rob423 is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 04-18-2007, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob423 View Post

physical hardware within the box will only allow for 160gb?

The latest Motorola hardware allows for any 3.5" SATA hard drive but their current firmware will only format the drive to a maximum of 160GB. The firmware may change - don't know.

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 05-07-2007, 10:21 PM
Member
 
amisam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish some of the replay tv guys would come over and figure out how to do this. It's probably one line of linux code that's it.

I've got the DCT3416-I that has the 160HD in it. I would love to have a 300G HD.

What I loved about replay tv boxes is that they had developed a flashing software that would allow you to mount an image of your stock 20 gig hard drive and put it on a 120+ hard drive!! It just made the image and you could continue to record.

It's gotta be just as easy to upgrade a comcast hd.

The search continues....
amisam is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 05-09-2007, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
AMD Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wished that you could do this as well
AMD Rocks is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 05-10-2007, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ncaahoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is for those who are renting or leasing the boxes, eg from Comcast:

One thing to keep in mind is that we are renting these boxes from them, we do not own them, so for any modifications, if something goes wrong, they could charge us full MSRP for "breaking them" or violating terms of the agreement, etc, etc, etc.

This is different from buying a TiVo or a HDD-based DVD recorder where we own it and we can turn it into a fishbowl if we like :-)

Boldly trying a new DVR: http://moto3416review.blogspot.com/
ncaahoops is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 05-10-2007, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaahoops View Post

One thing to keep in mind is that we are renting these boxes from them, we do not own them

I know this is a Comcast thread but it is being read by many non-Comcast subscribers who DO OWN their Moto DVRs!!

I own two and have upgraded the hard disks in both without issue.

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 05-10-2007, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ncaahoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavu View Post

I know this is a Comcast thread but it is being read by many non-Comcast subscribers who DO OWN their Moto DVRs!!

I own two and have upgraded the hard disks in both without issue.

That's good to know! I'll edit the previous post to make it clear(er).

I think in the next few markets the cable card thingy will probably open things up in the US market for purchasing them as well. Although I do not know if the cable providers will sell them or it will be through 3rd parties. They may already be available for purchase, but not from the mass market stores (I think).

Boldly trying a new DVR: http://moto3416review.blogspot.com/
ncaahoops is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 05-10-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaahoops View Post

They may already be available for purchase, but not from the mass market stores (I think).

Check out this listing from Best Buy !

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 05-11-2007, 02:51 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yup.... that's how much they cost... up to CDN 750 for a good dual-tuner HD DVR. And THOSE aren't the ones with CableCard support... add an extra $50-$80 for that.

It sure makes you appreciate not having to pay anything up-front for it as a US MSO customer.
bicker1 is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 05-11-2007, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

Yup.... that's how much they cost... up to CDN 750 for a good dual-tuner HD DVR. And THOSE aren't the ones with CableCard support... add an extra $50-$80 for that.

It sure makes you appreciate not having to pay anything up-front for it as a US MSO customer.


Too bad more people who complain about Tivo's Series 3 pricing don't realize what a deal they are getting!
maharg18 is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 05-11-2007, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ncaahoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavu View Post

Check out this listing from Best Buy !

Ouch on the price! But I was talking about the US market in the text you just quoted :-)

Boldly trying a new DVR: http://moto3416review.blogspot.com/
ncaahoops is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 05-12-2007, 04:38 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by maharg18 View Post

Too bad more people who complain about Tivo's Series 3 pricing don't realize what a deal they are getting!

That's really the point: It isn't that great of a deal. The two offerings are relatively comparable. People make such a big deal about choosing between the two, when in reality there only differentiating aspects between two are those that are customer-specific (some customers can afford an up-front outlay, others cannot; some customers can deal with the added technical complexity of CableCard, others cannot; etc.)
bicker1 is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 05-13-2007, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
formulaben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavu View Post

The latest Motorola hardware allows for any 3.5" SATA hard drive but their current firmware will only format the drive to a maximum of 160GB. The firmware may change - don't know.

It is nonsense like this that makes me think the software engineers are smoking crack.
formulaben is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 05-13-2007, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
formulaben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

That's really the point: It isn't that great of a deal. The two offerings are relatively comparable. People make such a big deal about choosing between the two, when in reality there only differentiating aspects between two are those that are customer-specific (some customers can afford an up-front outlay, others cannot; some customers can deal with the added technical complexity of CableCard, others cannot; etc.)

Uh, I think you're conveniently forgetting about a superior UI? What about superior software features? These are not "customer specific" items.

But I agree, it is a tough pill to swallow at the current prices AND paying per month for the service. I'd gladly pay $800 for an S3 if it included a lifetime subscription. The price point is much too high. The $499 sale nearly had me since I was waiting for Comcast to roll out the Tivo software upgrade, but now I wish I had jumped at it...we'll see.
formulaben is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 05-13-2007, 03:41 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, not forgetting. The superior UI and software features of the TiVo is balanced against the no-upfront-cost of the cable company DVRs and the fact that if a cable company DVR breaks you get a new one, free, no questions asked. Again, it's all a matter of trading off the positives and negatives of both options, and making a personal decision which is better for you. I get the impression you feel the TiVo is better, and that's fine for you; it isn't objectively better for everyone. I'm pretty indifferent between the two options, now that the price has come down. I think with the next significant price cut, I might give the TiVo a second chance. But for now, the TiVo isn't better for me -- the Motorola DVR is significantly better, given ALL the factors.
bicker1 is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 05-13-2007, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
formulaben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

... the Motorola DVR is significantly better, given ALL the factors.

And thus he spake, and it was so.

formulaben is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 05-14-2007, 03:37 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is what I actually wrote:

But for now, the TiVo isn't better

for me -- the Motorola DVR is significantly better, given ALL the factors. Amazing how some people just choose to ignore the two most important words in the sentence, just to stroke their childish passions.
bicker1 is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 05-14-2007, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
lightbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

Amazing how some people just choose to ignore the two most important words in the sentence, just to stroke their childish passions.

Your username would seem to invite disagreement.
lightbox is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 05-15-2007, 04:15 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hmmm... I wonder if that's why people think of the President the way they do...
bicker1 is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 05-15-2007, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ncaahoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

No, not forgetting. The superior UI and software features of the TiVo is balanced against the no-upfront-cost of the cable company DVRs and the fact that if a cable company DVR breaks you get a new one, free, no questions asked. Again, it's all a matter of trading off the positives and negatives of both options, and making a personal decision which is better for you. I get the impression you feel the TiVo is better, and that's fine for you; it isn't objectively better for everyone. I'm pretty indifferent between the two options, now that the price has come down. I think with the next significant price cut, I might give the TiVo a second chance. But for now, the TiVo isn't better for me -- the Motorola DVR is significantly better, given ALL the factors.

I agree with the above! In my opinion, TiVo may have a better UI and is more expandable/customizable, but given the uncertainty at the moment (HD media formats, digital/analog transition, cable cards, etc) and given the current prices, I prefer to rent until the dust settles...

I've used enough electronics with counterintuitive user interfaces that they don't bother me anymore...

Boldly trying a new DVR: http://moto3416review.blogspot.com/
ncaahoops is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 05-21-2007, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
JohnnyPraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it possible to hook an external SATA drive to the 3416 to add recording space?

XBOX Live: Hank Love
JohnnyPraze is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 05-21-2007, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyPraze View Post

Is it possible to hook an external SATA drive to the 3416 to add recording space?

No.

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 05-21-2007, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
JohnnyPraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will there be an update in the future to allow this?

XBOX Live: Hank Love
JohnnyPraze is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 05-22-2007, 03:36 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe. Sorry, that's the best answer I've found, for now.
bicker1 is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 11-05-2007, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Sim-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any word on adding an external hd yet?
Sim-X is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 11-05-2007, 09:44 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nope.
bicker1 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off