Getting DVR Content Off of a Motorola DCT6412 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-07-2007, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
golddave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Motorola DCT6412 on Comcast. The DVR is 80% full. I'd like to hook the box up to my computer to get some content off of there. Any ideas? (PS - My computer does not have Firewire. I only has USB.)

Thanks.
golddave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-08-2007, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golddave View Post

I have a Motorola DCT6412 on Comcast. The DVR is 80% full. I'd like to hook the box up to my computer to get some content off of there. Any ideas? (PS - My computer does not have Firewire. I only has USB.)

Thanks.

That is the only way.

Buy a Firewire card for your PC.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-08-2007, 11:05 PM
Member
 
lil_mikey69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to get content off a Motorola DCT3416 I box? It just fills up so quickly. Ideally I'd like to move shows to my computer so I could burn them onto DVDs and free up space on my DVR HD.
lil_mikey69 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-09-2007, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lil_mikey69 View Post

Is there any way to get content off a Motorola DCT3416 I box? It just fills up so quickly. Ideally I'd like to move shows to my computer so I could burn them onto DVDs and free up space on my DVR HD.

Firewire connection, then play the stored shows live and record on the computer.

there is a topic in the HDTV forum

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-11-2007, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
golddave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scanpa View Post

That is the only way.

Buy a Firewire card for your PC.

Once I have a Firewire connection what do I do? Can I just copy the data over to the PC?
golddave is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-11-2007, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golddave View Post

Once I have a Firewire connection what do I do? Can I just copy the data over to the PC?

This thread will tell you how and what to do.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=403695

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-14-2007, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
golddave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scanpa View Post

This thread will tell you how and what to do.

Thanks! That's exactly what I needed.
golddave is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off