External hard drive for DCT3416? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 01-20-2007, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Cyclosoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

I recently got a Motorola DCT3416 DVR and noticed it has both a USB and a SATA port on it.

Has anybody had any luck hooking up an external hard drive to this device to increase its storage capacity? (10 hours of HD is going to fill up fast

I'm wondering if there's a list of "approved" drives/connectors that I just wasn't able to find in my searching, and/or any tips, tricks or advice people have.

Thanks!
Cyclosoma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 02-08-2007, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I had my box replaced with the DCT3416 yesterday and i connected a drive to the sata port but nothing happened. I guess they have this port disabled like the rest of them on the back, usb, ethernet. I guess they don't want you to build your own VOD at home. Too bad, because your are right, the internal HD fills up fast even with SD recordings. I have been searching to see if there was a way to enable it but can't find anything. I assume it's done with a firmware which they control and we couldn't change if we wanted too. I wish i could find a good PVR that i could buy and control myself but no one seems to make them. Actually DVD recorders with Hard drives are getting hard to find and i wouldn't buy a recorder without one.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 02-17-2007, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
smckenna3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today I went to my local Comcast store to get my DVR box swapped out due to a problem with the video ouput. Anyway, one of the store assistents said that it was now possible to copy programs on the DVR to a PC via the ethernet connection. She said it had been activated within the last month.

Anyone know the procedure for getting recordings onto a PC?
smckenna3 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 02-26-2007, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Don18074's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Perkiomenville PA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd love to see how too! I just picked up this box too!
Don18074 is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 02-28-2007, 10:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smckenna3 View Post

Today I went to my local Comcast store to get my DVR box swapped out due to a problem with the video ouput. Anyway, one of the store assistents said that it was now possible to copy programs on the DVR to a PC via the ethernet connection. She said it had been activated within the last month.

Anyone know the procedure for getting recordings onto a PC?

Unfortunately, there is no such procedure. The store assistant was misinformed.

Motorola is working on a firmware update to allow encrypted storage to an external SATA drive -- that capability is coming in the second half of 2007. The recordings will be encrypted, and only playable from the DVR where they were recorded. Comcast intends to roll out this update in the second half of 2007.

Motorola has no plans to support PC/Mac file transfer.
bfdtv is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 04-03-2007, 06:21 PM
Newbie
 
biggied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smckenna3 View Post

Today I went to my local Comcast store to get my DVR box swapped out due to a problem with the video output. Anyway, one of the store assistents said that it was now possible to copy programs on the DVR to a PC via the ethernet connection. She said it had been activated within the last month.

Anyone know the procedure for getting recordings onto a PC?

I've been playing w/my motorola DVR for a couple of weeks now and far as I can tell that ethernet port is completely unused. I've tried every thing I can think of including pinging from my router -- that ethernet port is simply off, for lack of a better word.

I'm just hoping when they decide to disperse the update ware to turn it on it doesn't cause my box to freak out and quit working.
biggied is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Sim-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's almost 2008, I thought Comcast was going to roll this out in 07?
Sim-X is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 08:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim-X View Post

it's almost 2008, I thought Comcast was going to roll this out in 07?

Looks like it was delayed another six months. Comcast should support that feature in some markets by mid-2008.

If you want more storage now, you have to pony up for a high-def TiVo ($250) and external hard drive.
bfdtv is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 11-26-2007, 07:41 AM
Member
 
toadtaste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't expect Motorola to have this release available until late 2008 at the earliest. I have been requesting this from them for about a year now and have been getting little response from them.
toadtaste is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 02-07-2008, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 171
I guess it's still dead huh? I thought I read somewhere that people were able to transfer with certain boxes in certain areas. I sure would like to keep a permanent record of the Superbowl

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 02-08-2008, 08:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalownership View Post

I guess it's still dead huh? I thought I read somewhere that people were able to transfer with certain boxes in certain areas. I sure would like to keep a permanent record of the Superbowl

Cox was rumored to support drive expansion with Motorola hardware in a few markets but I have not seen any confirmation of that.

I do not expect to see external expansion on Motorola DVRs in 1H 2008. People do have dual-tuner HDTV DVRs with external hard drives on Brighthouse, Comcast, Cox, FiOS, TWC, etc, but that is because they (1) have a Scientific Atlanta DVR or (2) spend $200-$250 on a TivoHD.
bfdtv is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 03-19-2008, 03:39 PM
Newbie
 
kcrommett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been verry irritated as well. What is the point of a DVR with, ethernet, USB, and firewire, but we cant use it?? thats crap. Its not like the content we want to record didnt COME from the cable companies nextwork anyway!!
kcrommett is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 03-22-2008, 05:56 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How much extra money are you willing to pay for the cable companies to support the extras you want? There is no such thing as a free lunch, and unless millions of people are willing to pay a lot more for something, it isn't responsible to incur the costs associated with offering that something.

(By the way, you already have Firewire support.)
bicker1 is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 03-24-2008, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
TravelFan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Woodbridge, NJ
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Reading the posts so far, it's not clear to me whether this is a Comcast of Motorola issue at this time - can anyone clarify? I'd really would love to plug an eSata drive to allow me to store many more HD programming than what I could now.

Directv since June 2011 and loving it!
Directv wish list: BBC America HD, BBC World News, Fox Deportes HD and ESPN Deportes HD
I miss my Fox Deportes on Sports Pak!
TravelFan1 is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 03-24-2008, 05:35 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Essentially, it is a service issue. I don't expect to see MSOs offer eSATA unless things change such that it represents a much lower customer support exposure.
bicker1 is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 04-17-2008, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Sim-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coming up on may, still nothing.... Why put all the stuff on back if you can't use it, so stupid
Sim-X is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 04-17-2008, 11:19 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Because it is much less expensive for Motorola to design and manufacture one box, and then let each of their customers decide which services to enabled on those boxes, than it would be for them to design and manufacture a separate model for each of the possible combinations of available services. Furthermore, by having the one box, Motorola's customers can decide to offer additional services at a later date, without having to invest in new equipment.
bicker1 is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 07-19-2008, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Sim-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
still no external support... what the hell - Almost August!!!!
Sim-X is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 07-22-2008, 12:47 PM
Member
 
lance_60031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

...
(By the way, you already have Firewire support.)

Bicker could you expand the comment about firewire support? Thanks,

lance_60031 is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 07-22-2008, 04:36 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You'd be better off searching the forum for that information. I've read it, and even tried to get it working a few times, but I'm no experts about the particulars.
bicker1 is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 09-25-2008, 01:36 PM
Member
 
sconset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

How much extra money are you willing to pay for the cable companies to support the extras you want? There is no such thing as a free lunch, and unless millions of people are willing to pay a lot more for something, it isn't responsible to incur the costs associated with offering that something.

(By the way, you already have Firewire support.)

Ask Cablevision and their customers they are still in business and have external drive support. Unless it is required by law...

Pioneer PDP-5070HD Moto 6412 sII Moto 3416 DMR-E85H DVD Rotel RSX972 Wireworld Studio HF-33
B&W DM602.5 S3 DM600 S3 LCR600 S3 ASW600
sconset is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 09-26-2008, 02:39 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From what I can tell (from my father) Cablevision already has enough of their own problems!
bicker1 is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 10-16-2008, 08:22 PM
Member
 
Sim-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you think comcast will ever add external support?
Sim-X is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 10-17-2008, 02:48 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Probably not until the number of customers choosing a cable provider based on external support becomes significant, which may be never.
bicker1 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off