Can DVRs be used for OTA broadcasts? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-23-2007, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kokopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, this may be the dumbest newbie question ever but...

I have new HD plasma TV and will have an antenna for OTA stations (no cable or satellite). Can I use a DVR? Are there special models for this kind of application? Obviously, I know nothing about these and would appreciate assistance.
Kokopup is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-24-2007, 04:24 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokopup View Post

Okay, this may be the dumbest newbie question ever but...

I have new HD plasma TV and will have an antenna for OTA stations (no cable or satellite). Can I use a DVR? Are there special models for this kind of application? Obviously, I know nothing about these and would appreciate assistance.

You can use a Tivo Series 3 HD DVR to record OTA broadcast, but you'll have to subscribe to the Tivo service to make it work.

A better option would be to build/buy an HTPC.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-25-2007, 02:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokopup View Post

Okay, this may be the dumbest newbie question ever but...

I have new HD plasma TV and will have an antenna for OTA stations (no cable or satellite). Can I use a DVR? Are there special models for this kind of application? Obviously, I know nothing about these and would appreciate assistance.

If you have a Fry's Electronics around, they might still have some of the Sony DHG-HDD500's or 250's in stock. They are tuner/DVR's with a free, built-in guide. People using it with with digital cable sometimes have problems with it (more specifically, with cableCards), but for OTA or analog cable, they usually work great. There's a big thread on them over in the HDTV Hardware area of this forum.

There are no fees involved in using them.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-25-2007, 07:07 PM
Member
 
josh684's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is nothing other than the DHG-HDD500 that wil record HD? I am looking for the some thing...
josh684 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-26-2007, 12:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by josh684 View Post

There is nothing other than the DHG-HDD500 that wil record HD? I am looking for the some thing...

Other than a PC, there's the LG 3410a, which are older and really hard to find.

How about these?:http://www.shopping.hp.com/entertain.../1/storefronts.

Or: http://www.crutchfield.com/S-7BHTyv4...p.asp?g=197850.

The only other standalone DVR's available only record in standard definition.

What was the problem with the Sony's? Too expensive? Can't find them? They can usually be found on ebay for less than retail.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-26-2007, 06:17 PM
Member
 
josh684's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't find them was my only problem, I also would have liked something with a DVD/HDD
josh684 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-27-2007, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
FarmBubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no recorder I know of that will record Hi-def and put it on a DVD.
FarmBubba is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off