Can I use A DVR For Over The Air Signals? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-28-2007, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
McGinty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tucson
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My cable bill is going through the roof so I was thinking of dropping it. I
live in Tucson and can get most major channels in HD OTA. However, I do
like to time shift some shows so I'd like to purchase a DVR. Most I've seen
imply you need to work with a cable or satellite company and pay for the DVR
service even if you purchase the equipment.

Does anyone know if I can plug a coaxial antenna cable into a DVR and simply
record OTA shows? Must I connect it to a phone line and pay Tivo or someone
else for the channel lineup and time signal? Essentially I'm trying to
recreate the old VHS days.

Please direct me to the correct group if this question is not right for this
one. Thanks in advance.

McGinty
McGinty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-29-2007, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
goldenfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most DVR-PVR units do not have ATSC tuners in them YET, but after March 1, 2007 new units shipped across state lines or imported should have digital tuners in them. Most units will down res to 480i for recording.
goldenfinger is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-29-2007, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
McGinty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tucson
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Goldenfinger,

Good to know! Do any DVD recordes come with ATSC tuners? That may be a much less expensive way to go but I don't want to purchase an analog tuner that will be obsolete shortly. Besides, most of my local signals are digital now.

Thanks

McGinty
McGinty is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-29-2007, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
goldenfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The same FCC rules apply to DVD recorders after March. If any device that receives analog NTSC television must include an ATSC digital tuner.
goldenfinger is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-29-2007, 08:39 PM
Member
 
tivoscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wagon Wheel (South OC), CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Tivo Series 3 will record OTA.
tivoscool is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-29-2007, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tluxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A good option for DVR-ing OTA is a PC with a FusionHDTV5 card in it. If you don't want a PC in the loop, consider the R5000-HD route with a STB.
tluxon is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 02-13-2007, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Robert Brooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shoreline, WA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another option is the Sony dhg-hdd250/dhg-hdd500, they are now discontinued but some stores (Fry's) has some in stock, and there's always e-bay. They can recieve OTA analog and digital, it can also get QAM signals. They even have a an HDMI. check out the thread on this forum.

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Recorders >Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread

I just bought mine and am very pleased with it.
Robert Brooks is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-31-2007, 01:27 PM
Member
 
nn2g2bT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm too cheap to pay for any cable or satellite feeds, so I want to use my Samsung Hard Disk Drive+DVD Recorder with "Basic TiVo" (Model RS-TX20) to record all of my local OTA television signals, both analog and digital -- even those that don't appear in TiVo's Guide.

This "Basic TiVo" Recorder will tune and record analog signals for the stations which are listed in its Guide just fine (through the RF antenna input), but I don't see any way to manually record an unlisted analog station, and the only way I've found to record the 480i output from my HD STB is to manually initiate each recording separately -- without any advance scheduling whatsoever.

Years ago, I was able to manually schedule an old-school Panasonic Showstopper (Model PV-HS2000, made by ReplayTV) to record all of the above -- it even tuned the STB for me, once I found an approximation of the right IR Blaster Code.

But I guess that's progress, huh?


So...

Any comments, suggestions, or ideas out there about overcoming some of these proprietarily-engineered limitations?



P.S. Subscribing to the "TiVo Plus" Service makes no apparent difference in these features, so I'm not talking about any sort of theft-of-service issues here.

.

nn2g2bT = Not NECESSARILY Too Good to be True
nn2g2bT is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-08-2012, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
FDimino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a Magnavox MDR515H for OTA. It performs just as expected. No subscription of course that means you do not have a guide but have to depend on setting time start, stop and channel, You can DUB off on to a DVD as long as there is nothing recording or scheduled. I use a split-er to split the signal so I can watch another program while recording.. I can also watch recorded items from DVD or HDD at the same time.

The only problems are keeping the time synchronized and of course when something is preempted you get the wrong show.

I am currently looking for a multi tuner unit.
FDimino is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-06-2013, 07:00 AM
Member
 
gaidin43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TiVo premiere with lifetime is your best option and it has two tuners, computer access, iPhone access, and possibilities of extenders and streaming.
gaidin43 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-03-2013, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
dengel1012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaidin43 View Post

TiVo premiere with lifetime is your best option and it has two tuners, computer access, iPhone access, and possibilities of extenders and streaming.

Second. Even if you don't get lifetime, I think it's worth the monthly bill. I've had my TivoHD forever and am considering a Premier to get the latest Tivo features. Don't want to get the Premier 4, though, since it doesn't support OTA and I'd really like to cut the cable addiction. Cable just costs way more than I feel it's worth.

dengel1012 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off