Comcast 6416 III - Output Resolution Settings? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-12-2007, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
villain189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey,

I just exchanged my old Comcast DVR for a 6416 III over the weekend in preparation for the arrival of a new HDTV this coming weekend.

I wanted to see if anyone could tell me how I specify the resolution output settings for SD & HD?

I would like SD at the default SD setting...480i, right?
And I would like all HD channels to output 720p

Where is the menu for these settings?


Also. My 6416 has a 160GB HD...how many hours SD/HD have you guys with similar boxes been getting on your DVR?

Thanks!
jason
villain189 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-12-2007, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Press the power button on the remote (turn the stb off). Within 2 seconds press the menu key. You can change your settings from that menu. BTW. most prefer the STD broadcast to come through at 480p. I have better results with that setting. Press power twice when done to turn it back on.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-18-2007, 02:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by villain189 View Post

Hey,

I just exchanged my old Comcast DVR for a 6416 III over the weekend in preparation for the arrival of a new HDTV this coming weekend.

I wanted to see if anyone could tell me how I specify the resolution output settings for SD & HD?

I would like SD at the default SD setting...480i, right?
And I would like all HD channels to output 720p

Where is the menu for these settings?


Also. My 6416 has a 160GB HD...how many hours SD/HD have you guys with similar boxes been getting on your DVR?

Thanks!
jason

Experiment with the HD settings. I have found that 1080i output produces superior PQ even with 720 panels or Projectors.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off