putting .ts files to dvd - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-01-2007, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mattm58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have some non-HD cartoons I've saved from my motorola dvr to my pc. The .ts files are roughly 300mb for a 20 minute cartoon. I want to burn these to dvd so my kids can watch them in the car on an upcoming road-trip.

The problem I'm having is that when I convert these .ts files to mpeg2, they are coming out at over a gig each, so I can only fit maybe 3-4 20 minute shows on a dvd. How can I get more on there?

-M
mattm58 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-01-2007, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Jim J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
20 minute mpeg2 shouldn't be a heck of a lot more than 600megs (or at least can be with pretty good quality for the kids). What sort of bit-rates are you using? isn't the .ts mpeg2?

and how did you take the recordings off the moto?
Jim J is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-01-2007, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mattm58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm taking the recordings off the moto over firewire with the firestb drivers and capdvhs.

I couldn't tell you the bitrates right off, I'm at work right now. I was converting them using hdtv2mpeg2 to convert the transport streams to program stream with all the default settings.
mattm58 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-02-2007, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mattm58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The bitrates are about 1600
mattm58 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-02-2007, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Jim J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1600? shouldn't be so big. maybe the audio is getting converted to PCM by accident?
Jim J is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-07-2007, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
FarmBubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The audio would do it. I have run into that problem before.
FarmBubba is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off