Motorola HD DVR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 06-18-2007, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Gary1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm with DirecTv and need to upgrade my Tivo HR10-250 DVR to get locals in HD since I'm to far from the towers to get good OTA reception. DT* wants me to pay them $199 for the privilege of leasing their HR20 HD DVR. My local cable company was recently bought out by Wave Broadband. If I go with them I don't have to pay the $199 plus I can double my internet speed if I buy their package deal which would be just a few dollars a month more than I'm paying DT* and At&T DSL.

So to the question. Wave Broadband uses the Motorola HD DVR. Is this a good DVR? How does the software stack up against Tivo which I'm going to have to give up regardless of which way I go?
Gary1969 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 06-18-2007, 01:50 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Motorola DCT/DCH-34xx/64xx product lines are decent DVRs, but have a lot of niggling annoyances that get under the skin of some users. We have both a TiVo Series 3 and a Motorola DCT-3416, and we enjoy using the S3 A LOT more, but we have found it somewhat less reliable than the Motorola box for us, in a number of circumstances.
bicker1 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off