Which cables should I use for video/audio? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-16-2007, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
theperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey I just got a DVR this morning, an 8300 or something. Hopefully I'm posting in the right forum...anyway, the guy put a coaxial cable in for audio/video and kind of ran out the door so I couldn't ask questions. I put an optical cable in the DVR for the sound part since I know that's the best option but I don't know about video. Is composite video better than the coaxial cable for video? And if it is, i know s-video is even better, but I don't know if i want to take out the s-video cable from my xbox 360 and switch it for the DVR.

I just wondered this because the guy didn't even ask if I wanted a better video/audio connection or anything...

Thanks!
theperson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-16-2007, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you have a HDTV, use HDMI or component.

If you have a SDTV, the order of preference is generally component -> s-video -> composite -> coax. It may be necessary to change the output settings for component before you can use it, so I would start with s-video.

If your display has component, I would use that for the Xbox. If your display only has s-video and composite, then I would probably use s-video for the Xbox and composite for the DVR.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-16-2007, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
theperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea I have an SDTV so I guess I'll go with composite.
theperson is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-28-2007, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Adrian7724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

If you have a HDTV, use HDMI or component.

So, is there a noticable difference between Component and HDMI? Currently I'm using component... HDMI cables are kinda spendy so I don't want to drop 40 bucks if I'm not going to notice the difference.
Adrian7724 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-28-2007, 02:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian7724 View Post

So, is there a noticable difference between Component and HDMI? Currently I'm using component... HDMI cables are kinda spendy so I don't want to drop 40 bucks if I'm not going to notice the difference.

It depends on your display.

Digital display technologies like SXRD, LCD, and DLP do tend to benefit from an all-digital (HDMI) connection. Older CRT projection displays generally do not benefit. Be aware that the settings to achieve the same picture with HDMI and component are different, so if you tweaked your settings for component, you'll have to re-tweak for HDMI.

Note you can get a high-quality HDMI cable from Monoprice.com for about $15. If you need a length of 3', then their $4 cable should work just as well. There is no need to spend more than $20 on a HDMI cable.
bfdtv is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-28-2007, 02:39 PM
Member
 
Adrian7724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

It depends on your display.

Digital display technologies like SXRD, LCD, and DLP do tend to benefit from an all-digital (HDMI) connection. Older CRT projection displays generally do not benefit. Be aware that the settings to achieve the same picture with HDMI and component are different, so if you tweaked your settings for component, you'll have to re-tweak for HDMI.

Note you can get a high-quality HDMI cable from Monoprice.com for about $15. If you need a length of 3', then their $4 cable should work just as well. There is no need to spend more than $20 on a HDMI cable.

I have the Aquos 46 inch banding extrodinare model. Thanks for the info on the cable!
Adrian7724 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off