comcast cable card charges for tivo - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-23-2007, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RJAMES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a tivo series3. I have an HDTV with the cable card installed plus I have a comcast DVR. I want to get rid of the comcast box and go to tivo. Called to get the tech out and was told $1.95 a month for the additional cards..no problem..BUT they also want to charge me an additional $6.95 a month service fee. Anyone else run into this. Any imput appreciated!
RJAMES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-23-2007, 11:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As noted in the other thread, the outlet charge is meant for additional TVs.

Make clear to Comcast that you only have one TV and you can avoid that charge.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-28-2007, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
dot86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the DCT 3416 and get the video/audio skipping and drop outs like others have reported here on recorded shows. I have eliminated poor signal as live shows don't exhibit this. Is it safe to assume that a separte TIVO box with a regualr HD receiver from Comcast would work better?

Thanks.
dot86 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-29-2007, 05:36 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not necessarily. I have a DCT-3416 and I don't have the problems you're mentioning, so it is possible that they're related to issues outside your DCT-3416, issues that would remain if you replaced it with a plain STB and a TiVo.
bicker1 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-01-2007, 06:29 PM
Member
 
snowbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dot86 View Post

I have the DCT 3416 and get the video/audio skipping and drop outs like others have reported here on recorded shows. I have eliminated poor signal as live shows don't exhibit this. Is it safe to assume that a separte TIVO box with a regualr HD receiver from Comcast would work better?

Thanks.

Yes, I've lived with a succession of 6412 III boxes from Comcast. If you turn your in and get a replacement it's likely to not have dropouts for a few months, but they will come back. I just got a new Series III HD with cablecard and could not be happier. There are many other reasons that the Tivo is superior, it's not just the dropouts.

Mike
snowbear is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-02-2007, 06:33 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, be careful. I have a TiVo S3 and a Comcast Motorola DCT-3416, and I have more video problems on the S3 than on the 3416. (I do have more audio problems on the 3416, and have resorted to RCA connections for audio from the 3416, rather than TOSLINK, to avoid those audio problems.)

Each of the two options have their own strengths. They're roughly the same in cost (TiVo is slightly higher), and roughly the same in overall value (again, TiVo is slightly higher).
bicker1 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off