What DVR can I use for HD with basic cable service for comcast? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-01-2007, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
compconsultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have basic cable with comcast ($10/month) which includes the local channels in HD. Is there a DVR that will pick up the HD channels without a cable card? I am afraid I would have to upgrade to digital service to get a cable card costing an extra $50/month or so.

Thanks in advance for your help.
compconsultant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-02-2007, 05:59 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There have been two such devices, but they're no longer in production for sale in the United States.

The only devices in production, sold to the public in the United States, that does what you're looking for is the TiVo S3 or the TiVo HD, and both require CableCard(s) to accomplish what you're looking for.
bicker1 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-05-2007, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brown Radagast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fremont, California
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'd probably have to go with 2 devices: 1) a STB, such as the PrimeDTV 205, which would feed into a 2) DVD recorder. End product would be 480 resolution, I'm afraid - until a DVD recorder comes out that will record 720p/1080i (or p...).

Drawback with QAM devices is that you won't get any encrypted HD channels, such as ESPN (or obviously the pay channels).

I too just have basic Comcast. I use a OnAir GT + PC option, but also get the local broadcasts in HD (KTVU, etc.).

BTW, welcome to the forums.

MY DILEMMA: New car or PJ? New car or PJ? New car or PJ?
Brown Radagast is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-05-2007, 11:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by compconsultant View Post

I have basic cable with comcast ($10/month) which includes the local channels in HD. Is there a DVR that will pick up the HD channels without a cable card? I am afraid I would have to upgrade to digital service to get a cable card costing an extra $50/month or so.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I have basic analog cable with no box and I use a Philips DVDR3575 to pick up all my basic analog channels plus 7 beautiful digital/HD channels as a bonus. One person using the same DVDR gets 37 digital channels on Verizon FIOS w/o a box.

Here's some info if interested.
wajo is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-06-2007, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should be able to use Tivo S3 or TivoHD to pick up unecrypted HD channels w/o a cable card. However, I am not sure if you can accurately map the guide data to those channels yet.
Scyber is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-06-2007, 09:15 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's correct. There is no manual channel mapping. TiVo has not given any indication that they are planning on providing that type of enhancement, at any point in the future.
bicker1 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off