Added 2nd Tivo & noticed lines on SD broadcasts on all TV's in house? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-18-2007, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tripleM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Recently Added a 2nd S2 Tivo & noticed lines on SD broadcasts on all my TV's in house? They look like faint diagonally scrolling white lines.

I know it is interference some where most likely the new additional TiVo?
I have a splitter on each of the Tivo 1 & 2 in the house.
I have Cox cable coming into the A/V distribution panel in the basement with a cable amp (Cox supplied) attached to it

Any insights would be appreciated.

Thanks

Panasonic TC-P60ST60 + Sony STR-DG810 + LG BH200 + JBL L830's x2 + JBL LC1 + JBL Loft40 x 2 + Polk PSW10 + Harmony One
tripleM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-18-2007, 10:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is caused by a "ground loop" issue. Either your power outlet or coax is not properly grounded. Google "ground loop" for more information.

If you don't want to fix your wiring, you can solve the issue with a ground loop isolator like this. Some surge protectors also have these built-in.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-18-2007, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tripleM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

This is caused by a "ground loop" issue. Either your power outlet or coax is not properly grounded. Google "ground loop" for more information.

If you don't want to fix your wiring, you can solve the issue with a ground loop isolator like this. Some surge protectors also have these built-in.


Thanks. I will look into it. Questions:
It doesn't have to buzz to be a ground loop?
Do you install this @ the point of cable entry (distribution box) or near the component (Tivo) entry?

Panasonic TC-P60ST60 + Sony STR-DG810 + LG BH200 + JBL L830's x2 + JBL LC1 + JBL Loft40 x 2 + Polk PSW10 + Harmony One
tripleM is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-18-2007, 11:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripleM View Post

Thanks. I will look into it. Questions:
It doesn't have to buzz to be a ground loop?

Ground loops can cause buzzing, but typically do not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tripleM View Post

Do you install this @ the point of cable entry (distribution box) or near the component (Tivo) entry?

They are typically installed before the component.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off