Tivo vs Directv HD DVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-21-2007, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rikosuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at getting a HD DVR tuner and noticed Directv wants a $5.00/mth DVR fee in conjunction with their DVR.

If I get a Tivo will they still charge me that monthly fee?

Thanks
rikosuave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-21-2007, 11:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes. And you can't use it with satellite.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-22-2007, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rikosuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Ramm.


rikosuave is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-26-2007, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Yes. And you can't use it with satellite.

Did you mean that you can't use it to receive terrestrial broadcasts (OTA)? It has to work on the satellite...

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-26-2007, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

Did you mean that you can't use it to receive terrestrial broadcasts (OTA)? It has to work on the satellite...

He was referring to the TivoHD and Tivo Series3. Those don't support satellite.

They do support cable and OTA HD.
bfdtv is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-26-2007, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

Did you mean that you can't use it to receive terrestrial broadcasts (OTA)? It has to work on the satellite...

Tivo-HD and Series-3 only receive NTSC, ATSC, and QAM signals via their built in tuners they do not have an analog or digital video input, nor do they have any means of controlling an external tuner of any type.

So they will not work with a satellite receiver or a cable box.

If you want an HD DVR for Direct TV or Dish Network you will have to get it from them or build it yourself using a computer and capture cards.

Standard def Tivo's (series 1 and 2) will work with any type of external tuner as long as it has the right I/R codes to control the box via I/R blaster. I used my old series 1 with a high def cable box. The cable box output a down scaled composit video of teh HD progams. Sure it was not HD but it looked really good, much better than a standard channel's standard video output.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-15-2008, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 4,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You can use a Tivo Hughes unit, but it will only do Mpeg 2 and you won't receive all the newer HD channels from DirecTV. If you buy it, they should only charge you for the service.... The Hughes unit does OTA, but the new HR21 are adding a device in Feb, that will allow you to use a OTA Ant.... Also hopefully Tivo and DTV have had more talks about adding them on the lineup again as far as a provider of boxes goes...
Garman is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off