DCT-6416 - Let TV do the processing? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-08-2008, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kerplunknet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys,

How can I get my cable box to let my TV do the standard definition upscaling?

If you look at this:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/How_to_...p#4:3_OVERRIDE

I set my cable box to the "480i" mode and it does not work. My TV just says that there is no input, but I can switch it to any of the other modes and it works. Am I doing something wrong? Is it an HDMI issue?

Thanks
kerplunknet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-08-2008, 10:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You set 4:3 override to 480i and you do not get a picture on SD channels?

If so, it sounds like your display does not accept 480i over HDMI. Many do not.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-09-2008, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kerplunknet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, that is it. I used component cables and now it works correctly. Even though I would prefer to use HDMI, oh well.
kerplunknet is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-04-2008, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Alright, what about me using an 03 Panny RP HDTV and component cable. Should I have 4:3 overide set to 480i or 480p for best picture? Will my set do better at upconvert or will my cable box?
NismoZ is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-09-2008, 03:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 19,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Try them both and pick the one that works best.

No one can tell you which is best.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off