Dch6416 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-09-2008, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Loegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the DCH6416 DVR. My cable co is Time Warner. I checked the status and all my ports (USB/FireWire/eSATA/Ethernet) are enabled. I tried hooking up an external FireWire/USB 2.0 120GB drive to the box and it recognizes the drive, but I can't figure out how to get the DVR to use it.

The way I checked is powering down the box and hitting OK which takes me to a dignostic menu. It shows in realtime what devices are connected, so when I turned on the HD, I could see it pop up on the screen when using either the FireWire or USB ports. The regular DVR menu (box powered on) did not list it however.

I guess my main question is do you need the cable co to install software in order to use an external HD? Or is having the ports enabled and the HD recognized enough?

EDIT

BTW - I am just looking to increase storage, not to transfer the files. Also my firmware version is 18.20 and my SW vers is 74.53-3321 if that helps.
Loegan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-09-2008, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loegan View Post

I guess my main question is do you need the cable co to install software in order to use an external HD? Or is having the ports enabled and the HD recognized enough?

Unfortunately, you cannot.

These boxes do not have the firmware (drivers) to support any form of external storage.

If you want external storage, you've got to buy your own DVR.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-09-2008, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Loegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well that's disappointing news. Thank you for the quick answer though.
Loegan is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-18-2008, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'll notice that the drive is Enabled but Not Active
IrregularPulse is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off