Do You Record SiriusXM? If So How? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 03-30-2013, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
njemelbourne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right up until recently I was recording Howard 100 using Pulsar and Audio Hijack but they are discontinuing Pulsar as Sirius XM are trying to kill 3rd part apps that stream their channels (yes, you have to be a subscriber to do so).
I record the show for listening later due to my unusual work hours (I'm asleep when the show airs).
Does anyone else record the show (mac user here)?
What applications do you use?

I have told my wife that when I die I wish to be buried in a steel book. A large one albeit, but yes, a steel book.
njemelbourne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 03-31-2013, 03:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Joel Graffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palm City, FL
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pulsar was nice, too bad we can't use it any more.

I still occasionally use Audio Hijack for recording XM, I keep an output of my Delphi receiver plugged into my Mac Mini. Works fine, of course you must leave the receiver turned on.
Joel Graffman is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 03-31-2013, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I on occassion will record music and save it to my PC or just record to a CD.
RCbridge is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 03-31-2013, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Brad Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I use an Antex XM100 receiver as the source. It allows you to setup timers so that the station will change for various programs.

I then use Audio HiJack Pro to do the recording and dump it into a directory.

There's a python script I found a few years back to actually generate the RSS feed and then I use Apache to serve it to iTunes and have some other scripts setup so that it just refreshes when needed and right away, meaning, 1 min after the recording has ended it builds the RSS feed and hits up iTunes to refresh that particular feed.

It works quite well.

I would think that you'd be able to start the XM Online streamer and set the channel with the right parameters, and then use Audio HiJack Pro to record from Safari, or Chrome, or whatever it is you like to use, but I have never tried it.
Brad Bishop is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 04-29-2013, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I get the Sirius music channels via Dish Network. I have recorded "Breakfast with The Beatles" off Underground Garage on my Dish DVR.
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-05-2013, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
STEELERSRULE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Western PA
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by njemelbourne View Post

Right up until recently I was recording Howard 100 using Pulsar and Audio Hijack but they are discontinuing Pulsar as Sirius XM are trying to kill 3rd part apps that stream their channels (yes, you have to be a subscriber to do so).
I record the show for listening later due to my unusual work hours (I'm asleep when the show airs).
Does anyone else record the show (mac user here)?
What applications do you use?

My God, why make this so complicated.

Just go on EBay and Buy either a Stiletto 100, or a Stiletto 2. With BOTH the car dock, and home dock, it will probably run you around $180 for everything. Probably a little less for the Stiletto 100 since it is a little older.

I do the same thing you do. I let my Stiletto 100 record the show, then I listen too it at my leisure. I also FF through all the commercials. And if Howard is interviewing, or doing something I could a give rats a** about, I simply FF/Skip through it all.

That is what I would do.
STEELERSRULE is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-07-2013, 11:56 PM
Member
 
ChrisSwanson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OR, you could just do what I do,
I use a Sony Minidisc recorder, the JB940 unit.
I have recorded Eddie Trunks show on Hair Nation many times for
future listening.
However, be FOR WARNED: If buying an md MiniDisc unit off of Ebay
MOST sellers will lie, and
say the unit is in 100% perfect working condition, and
when you get it, it`s broke!
THERE ARE NOT ALOT OF REPAIR MAN THAT YOU CAN TAKE THESE TOO ANYMORE TO GET FIXED!
PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE, I RAN INTO THIS PROBLEM 3 TIMES IN 2010-2012.
IF you can find 1 off of Craigslist, so you can go and TEST it, BEFORE buying it!
The sound quality, is as good as listening to the radio itself, and it does NOT degrade!
ChrisSwanson72 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 06-04-2013, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
s4mb4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they do not make it easy anymore, that is for sure.

on windows, i use chrome to log into the sirius app.
i run a program called SiriusKA. (i think it is just mouse macro software)
once that is all going, any type of PC recording software will do the trick. I use Total Recorder Professional 7

not as easy as it was with Roque's software but it works.
s4mb4 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 04-18-2014, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
grambo30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Recording SirusXM Online
Once upon a time I used XM Tuner, then I used SiriusXMStreamer.  
On 2014-04-17 SXMS stopper working.  
After trying a bunch of stuff I hit on this decent solution for recording.

1. Start SiriusXM Online player
2. Choose the channel you want to listen to
Your address bar will look like this:
https://www.siriusxm.com/player/#view=channels
3. Now click Now Playing. 
Your address bar will read something like this
https://www.siriusxm.com/player/#view=nowPlaying&channelId=siriuspatriot


4. Download and Start Replay Radio 9 ($29.95)
5. In RR9 Skip the Quick record nonsense and click Schedule Tab
6. Right Click and Select New to creat a show
7. Type a name (Example WM_{Y}-{M}-{D} The YMD adds date to the name
8. In the URL copy and paste URL from step 3 above.
9. Set Capture to Record Audio Output
10. Set Launch to In Tuner
11. Set Convert and Media Folder to your choice
12. Select Tuning Tab and add URL form Step
and set Player to Browser
13. Select Tags and set to your choice
14. Right Click on show and select Start Recording

grambo30 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 08-05-2014, 07:44 AM
Member
 
The Grim Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have a good idea on how to record certain Sirius NFL Radio programs to MP3? Radio Replay9 isn't good for that.
The Grim Reaper is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 02-26-2015, 08:28 PM
Member
 
lockuplever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by njemelbourne View Post
Right up until recently I was recording Howard 100 using Pulsar and Audio Hijack but they are discontinuing Pulsar as Sirius XM are trying to kill 3rd part apps that stream their channels (yes, you have to be a subscriber to do so).
I record the show for listening later due to my unusual work hours (I'm asleep when the show airs).
Does anyone else record the show (mac user here)?
What applications do you use?
10 year old XM PCR, still works great!
lockuplever is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 04-26-2015, 05:39 AM
Newbie
 
YeoldMetalhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lancaster county PA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use Audacity software to record the streams. It has a bit of a steep learning curve but it is easy to use once your familiar with it.

I set up the Audacity, log onto the Sirius player and hit record.

The sound quality is actually better (slightly) than listening directly from the Satellite. I get no compression artifacts.

I personally use it to record their On Demand shows so I can burn them to CD to play on my main stereo.

And it is Mac friendly.

http://web.audacityteam.org/

http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/8052/audacity
YeoldMetalhead is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 05-27-2015, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by YeoldMetalhead View Post
I use Audacity software to record the streams. It has a bit of a steep learning curve but it is easy to use once your familiar with it.

I set up the Audacity, log onto the Sirius player and hit record.

The sound quality is actually better (slightly) than listening directly from the Satellite. I get no compression artifacts.

I personally use it to record their On Demand shows so I can burn them to CD to play on my main stereo.

And it is Mac friendly.
I downloaded Audacity. I downloaded the SiriusXM Player. How do I get the audio into the Audacity input? It wants to use the laptop microphone.
jeffmoskin is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-28-2015, 03:21 AM
Newbie
 
YeoldMetalhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lancaster county PA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you look at the screenshot you will see just above the numbers 1 2 3 4 etc a few bars that show WASAPI and Speakers (Audioquest) etc. These you set for your particular soundcard and inputs.

If your still having problems go this page:

http://manual.audacityteam.org/o/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SP32-20150528-061652.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	106.5 KB
ID:	741633  
YeoldMetalhead is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 05-28-2015, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Mine says "Core Audio Host" and I cannot change it. There must be a way.

Also, I cannot switch off the tool "Built-n Microphone"
jeffmoskin is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 05-31-2015, 06:15 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,185
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 410
If you're trying to record what you hear, you'll need a full-duplex sound card. If your laptop doesn't have that, then you can't do it. Head to the Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Manage audio devices > Recording tab. Right click "show disabled devices" and "show disconnected devices." Checkmark both. If you don't see something like "stereo mix," then you have a half-duplex card. If you DO see "stereo mix" set it as your default, then go into your recording program and set the input accordingly. (I use Adobe Audition, so I'm only familiar with that).

I don't have SXM internet, so I just jack my SXM radio into the computer's line input, set Audition for delayed start and go on about my day. I've recorded about a dozen hours of Spa that way, edited out the spoken IDs and copied the file onto my phone to help me sleep on flights.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 05-31-2015, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
If you're trying to record what you hear, you'll need a full-duplex sound card. If your laptop doesn't have that, then you can't do it. Head to the Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Manage audio devices > Recording tab. Right click "show disabled devices" and "show disconnected devices." Checkmark both. If you don't see something like "stereo mix," then you have a half-duplex card. If you DO see "stereo mix" set it as your default, then go into your recording program and set the input accordingly. (I use Adobe Audition, so I'm only familiar with that).

I don't have SXM internet, so I just jack my SXM radio into the computer's line input, set Audition for delayed start and go on about my day. I've recorded about a dozen hours of Spa that way, edited out the spoken IDs and copied the file onto my phone to help me sleep on flights.
Bingo!

Thanks, DrDon.

Sure enough, my Mac Air has only a micropbone input.I have the SXM app on my iPhone. Perhaps I can get a 3.5mm male to male cord and use it as a source. I used to have a stand-alone receiver but no longer do. I too like SPA to fall asleep on long flights.
jeffmoskin is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 05-31-2015, 07:20 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,185
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmoskin View Post
Perhaps I can get a 3.5mm male to male cord and use it as a source.
You'll need a cord with a built-in pad. Line-level out to microphone in is going to distort like hell.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 05-31-2015, 07:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Come to think of it, there is no input jack on this thing. It is an otherwise great laptop.

Oh, well.
jeffmoskin is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 05-31-2015, 08:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,185
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 410
You'll need an external sound card, then. I don't work in the Mac world, but I've been carrying around a SoundBlaster USB device for some time. Used to do a lot of broadcasts from Nashville. I always had my laptop connected to the audio console so if the line back to the station dropped, I could continue doing the show and e-mailing the breaks back to the studio. Actually happened during a New York broadcast. Laborious, but listeners never knew there'd been an issue.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 05-31-2015, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
You'll need an external sound card, then. I don't work in the Mac world, but I've been carrying around a SoundBlaster USB device for some time. Used to do a lot of broadcasts from Nashville. I always had my laptop connected to the audio console so if the line back to the station dropped, I could continue doing the show and e-mailing the breaks back to the studio. Actually happened during a New York broadcast. Laborious, but listeners never knew there'd been an issue.
Then I need a stand-alone SXM receiver to feed it which I don't have. I think I'll resurrect my old Dell XP laptop and use it.

Microsoft did some things better than Apple.
jeffmoskin is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old Today, 01:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have searched a post on Google, it offered several ways, and I tried to record from sirius successfully with Apowersoft Free audio recorder. But it has been a long time ago, so I am not sure if the radio has made other limit to recorders. You can give it a try.
Twelve Edin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply XM and Sirius Satellite Radio



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off