On a scale from low to high quality - MP3 - CDs - SACD - how does this rate? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 06-19-2003, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On a scale from low to high quality of Digital music - MP3 - CDs - SACD - how does this rate?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2003, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member

The music channels on Sirius are lower than CD quality, the talk channels are about a 64k online stream. XM's talk channels are better, and music channels are almost as good as Sirius for what I've heard.

Nothing close to DVDA or SACD.
Old 06-19-2003, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member

It's mp3 quality. When I first started listening, the compression was obvious. Then again, I'm picky about these things. Now that I rarely listen to anything else, I almost never notice it unless I try.

I have XM. I have no actual knowledge of their technology, but it seems clear they allocate bandwith to stations based on content. The classical stations seem to get pretty good bandwith - the compression isn't that apparent. On pop music, the sound is clearly closer to good mp3 than to CD quality. The talk stations are crunched, you can tell they get low bandwith.
Old 06-19-2003, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

on my scale, I did not even think of putting Internet steaming audio, I did not know that they compressed talk that much.
Old 06-20-2003, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member

I think XM's in-house music channels sound as good as the very best mp3 I have heard, plus there's more high frrequency air than mp3...less phasy-sounding in the highs.

HiDefDave

WPTV/WFLX West Palm Beach, FL

Old 06-26-2003, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally posted by JamesMH
The music channels on Sirius are lower than CD quality, the talk channels are about a 64k online stream. XM's talk channels are better, and music channels are almost as good as Sirius for what I've heard.