Sirius Poor Reception... help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 01-29-2006, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone.. please.. I just had a Sirius Sportster installed in my car. The antenna is up front, inside the car, next to my windshield. I very rarely have 3 bars.. let alone 2.. most times I am operating at 1 bar... and then drop out. This seems to happen quite a bit and I am getting discrouraged. Is there any setting I can do on the receiver to make this better? Radio station matter?

I live in Northern NJ.. not far from NYC. Its not like I live in the woods. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-29-2006, 07:45 PM
Advanced Member

You can try placing the antenna in the rear window if possible. I work on cars for a living and notice alot of antennas placed on the rear deck so thats got to tell you something. I still think you should have optimum terrestrial signal strength from your locale.

Visit me at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 Old 01-30-2006, 02:12 AM
AVS Special Member

Put the antenna outside,on the roof..

Quote:
I still think you should have optimum terrestrial signal strength from your locale.
No,the repeaters only have a range of about 15 miles,so I doubt he's picking up any signal from the NYC repeaters...
post #4 of 12 Old 01-30-2006, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 11
Another vote for putting the antanna on the roof. That is by far the best location for it.

Petteri Leone
"all the boys upstairs want to see
how much you'll pay for
what you used to get for free"
- tom petty, the last dj
post #5 of 12 Old 01-31-2006, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11