? on XM in 2006 GM Yukon - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-07-2008, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ust82gopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A moderately frustrating question.

When listen to digital FM stations on the factory installed Delco radio in my GMC Yukon, the digital display automatically scrolls the station name, song, artist, etc.

But when I switch to XM, I have to manually push the info button to get any information.

Any idea on how to get XM to auto scroll just like the FM stations?
ust82gopher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-07-2008, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: east texas
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ust82gopher View Post

A moderately frustrating question.

When listen to digital FM stations on the factory installed Delco radio in my GMC Yukon, the digital display automatically scrolls the station name, song, artist, etc.

But when I switch to XM, I have to manually push the info button to get any information.

Any idea on how to get XM to auto scroll just like the FM stations?

That's a great question which unfortunately I can't answer. But if anyone can, I'd also like to know since I have XM in my '08 Impala.

mtrot is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-08-2008, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
NJTEX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have factory XM on an '07 GM radio. It's the version with the big knob in the middle along the bottom. I think it's called "Black Tie" internally.

No scrolling possible, you select to have channel name, artist, or song always displayed. The info button is always available to manually view the other information when desired.

I'd prefer a scrolling option too. My guess is that it's a driver distraction issue.
NJTEX is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-08-2008, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ust82gopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XM's software that prevents the auto scrolling? I can't believe it is the Delco radio's hardware. If it was, I would think that the FM stations would not work either.

Does anyone have a hand held XM radio? Do they auto scroll?
ust82gopher is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-11-2008, 09:38 AM
Member
 
NYSmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The factory radio in my Hyundai Santa Fe scrolls the info when switching to a channel and whenever a new song comes on. Otherwise it just shows the channel name.
NYSmoker is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-11-2008, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
xzitony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ust82gopher View Post

XM's software that prevents the auto scrolling? I can't believe it is the Delco radio's hardware. If it was, I would think that the FM stations would not work either.

Does anyone have a hand held XM radio? Do they auto scroll?

Yes, XM's own radios past the MyFi (Xpress, Inno, etc.) all scroll when needed. XM's hardware supports it, it's up to the OEMs to incorporate this feature, however. My 2006 Honda doesn't support it, either and has a 16 character max for each Artist and Title. My Inno will show 32 of each and scroll when it doesn't fit on the screen automatically.
xzitony is offline  
Reply XM and Sirius Satellite Radio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off