Panasonic DMR-EH57 - Why not all over this forum? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-29-2008, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Given those that say they are disappointed with Panasonic no longer making DVD recorders with a hard drive? From all accounts this records NTSC as well as PAL.


Panasonic DMR-EH57 1080p
PAL/NTSC Code Free DVD Recorder with 160 GB hard disk
Records in "ALL" regions format for worldwide compatibility
The DMR-EH57 is a great CODE FREE ALL ZONE DVD player too!
igreg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-29-2008, 09:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 137
One reason might be that the tuner is:

"Built-in PAL/Secam DK, BG, I, DK TV tuners"
wajo is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-29-2008, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

One reason might be that the tuner is:

"Built-in PAL/Secam DK, BG, I, DK TV tuners"

Ads say that it "Records in "ALL" regions format for worldwide compatibility". Records in PAL or NTSC on DVD-R DVD-+R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, and DVD-RAM - Regular or Dual Layer discs


Not true? Thanks.
igreg is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-29-2008, 09:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by igreg View Post

Ads say that it "Records in "ALL" regions format for worldwide compatibility". Records in PAL or NTSC on DVD-R DVD-+R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, and DVD-RAM - Regular or Dual Layer discs


Not true? Thanks.

I figure their marketing words must mean it can record an NTSC signal via line input and create PAL or NTSC discs, but unless you can find a spec that says it has a NTSC or, more important for U.S., an ATSC, tuner, don't think it'll work here as most people would want? Might work in a satellite system where a tuner won't work anyway, just not sure tho. Just be careful and ask lots of questions, and hope you get good answers.
wajo is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-29-2008, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

I figure their marketing words must mean it can record an NTSC signal via line input and create PAL or NTSC discs, but unless you can find a spec that says it has a NTSC or, more important for U.S., an ATSC, tuner, don't think it'll work here as most people would want? Might work in a satellite system where a tuner won't work anyway, just not sure tho. Just be careful and ask lots of questions, and hope you get good answers.


Thanks for the reply. I subsequently saw this in a note at the bottom of the page:

NOTE: This model doesn’t have NTSC (American) Tuner. You will not able to record satelite broadcasting programs using NTSC tuner.

Did sound too good to be true. More of a market for HDD recorder outside of the USA?
igreg is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-29-2008, 10:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by igreg View Post

Thanks for the reply. I subsequently saw this in a note at the bottom of the page:

NOTE: This model doesn't have NTSC (American) Tuner. You will not able to record satelite broadcasting programs using NTSC tuner.

Did sound too good to be true. More of a market for HDD recorder outside of the USA?

Yes, EVERYBODY ELSE gets all the good stuff!
wajo is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-30-2008, 06:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by igreg View Post

Ads say that it "Records in "ALL" regions format for worldwide compatibility".

All recorders record in "ALL" regions format. That just means it doesn't assign a region code to the recording so that it is playable on any player worldwide that will play that particular video format. So it's a nothing statement. Kinda like: is equipped with on-unit power button to allow operation without remote.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-30-2008, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I own a DMR-EH67, (similar to the 57) and it works fine for my purposes. I subscribe to DirecTV and record everything to my DVR. For what I want to save, I play the DVR into my DVD recorder's had drive, and then dub it to -R media. This has been working for me, and I am quite happy with the process. The box says it had a region, but the people at world-import hacked it to all region, works fine so far. I assume it would work with one of those digital converter boxes, but the guide probably wouldn't work. With DirecTV, I never use the guide anyway, so it doesn't matter to me.

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 08-02-2008, 02:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Cool. Can you record directly from satellite to -R media also? Thanks.
igreg is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 08-11-2008, 01:04 PM
 
ashiq88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but unless you can find a spec that says it has a NTSC or, more important for U.S., an ATSC, tuner, don't think it'll work here as most people would want? Might work in a satellite system where a tuner won't work anyway, just not sure tho. Just be careful and ask lots of questions, and hope you get good answers.
ashiq88 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 08-11-2008, 01:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiq88 View Post

but unless you can find a spec that says it has a NTSC or, more important for U.S., an ATSC, tuner..

It definitely does not have either.

It can record from a cable, satellite, or OTA digital or analog tuner of any sort in the US through a line input.

(I think that link you posted there needs to be removed, too.)
Rammitinski is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 08-11-2008, 02:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The foreign Pioneers do have an NTSC-M tuner, which can be used here.
Rammitinski is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off