No power down with Dish 722 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-21-2009, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JC_VT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently got a Dish Network 722, but found that when turned off there was still either a fan or hard drive operating, making noise and generating some heat. This is when it is totally off, not recording either. After a few weeks a had Dish replace that, but the replacement is doing exactly the same thing. If this were my computer I would say the hard drive is not sleeping fully. Any one else experience this, or have any advice? I can live with it so long as it is not going to prematurely kill the 722.
JC_VT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-21-2009, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I'm not familiar with your exact STB but if it's a DVR I believe basically all DVRs record to a live buffer and never shut down. IMO it's a big waste of electricity not to mention HDD life. Of course some people believe leaving a HDD ON all the time is easier on it than having it shut down.
I've read articles that say DVRs are about the biggest vampire in the average home. A vampire is something that draws power even when not in use. Many electronic devices never really turn off, unplugging is your only choice, but not a very good one for DVRs.
The article I read said something like, if we could get rid of all the vampires in the US we could eliminate 3 power plants. Again for some things it's not practical to unplug them. I don't think they were talking about things like clocks but rather things that are turned OFF but really aren't.
jjeff is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-21-2009, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JC_VT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jjeff could well be right about that being normal behavior. As an experiment I pulled the power switch, and while it definitely was off then, when I plugged it back in the 722 had to do the satellite search again to upload the programming, which takes several minutes.
JC_VT is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-21-2009, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
These time-shifting devices are discussed in more detail in this forum:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...ysprune=7&f=42

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-21-2009, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC_VT View Post

I recently got a Dish Network 722, but found that when turned off there was still either a fan or hard drive operating, making noise and generating some heat. This is when it is totally off, not recording either. After a few weeks a had Dish replace that, but the replacement is doing exactly the same thing. If this were my computer I would say the hard drive is not sleeping fully. Any one else experience this, or have any advice? I can live with it so long as it is not going to prematurely kill the 722.

The Dish VIP722 dvr NEVER shuts off. It only goes to a screen-saver mode when you hit the off button. That's NORMAL operating procedure for a dvr. If it completely shut off, it could never record your shows when you want.

I have owned a VIP622 (slightly older model) for several years, so I know this first hand. When it goes to screen-saver mode, it only saves about 1 watt of power. So, if you want a receiver you can turn completely OFF, you will have to go to a NON dvr model.
Primestar31 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off