Way around Copyright-Protected VHS tape? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 04-24-2009, 03:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the deal: I am trying to record a VHS tape of a movie ('29th Street') over to DVD for a friend, but - and this is for the first time ever - I have encountered a message regarding Copyright protection. The exact message reads: "Recording has stopped. Copyrighted Material cannot be copied." And then my DVD Recorder stops recording after displaying this message.

Does anyone know of a way around this so that I will be able to record this VHS tape to DVD with my DVD Recorder? Any ideas or advice? Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

By the way, my DVD Recorder is a Panasonic DMR-EA18 and my VCR is Panasonic PV-8450.

I have been using DVD Recorders for about 2 years now (I've had 3 different DVD Recorders: a Panasonic DMR-ES15, a Panasonic DMR-ES25, and the Panasonic DMR-EA18, which I just bought about 2 weeks ago, after my original Panasonic DMR-ES15 crashed), and I have recorded well over 100 recordings without ever having ran in to this Copyright Protection error. Mostly I have capped/recorded stuff from TV, but I've also recorded/converted several personal VHS recordings from the '90s, mostly Boxing broadcasts.

And for the record, I am simply trying to record this movie over to DVD so that a friend will be able to view it on his DVD Player. It's a movie that he personally bought some time back, and would like to have a more convenient DVD version of the film for his collection.

Please feel free to offer any ideas, suggestions and/or adive. Any replies will definitely be appreciated!

Thanks. - AzAssassin, a.k.a. BillyJackAz
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-24-2009, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 92