Just bought a copiall DPX-7000 and not working correctly - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-06-2010, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
linkandcuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just got it in the mail and read the directions and plug it in and i tried to record a movie on HBO and my sony DVD recording is say INF WRITE again which is the only reason i bought this think. I have it wired from the cable box to the input of the DPX-7000 then wires go out the output into the input of the dvd recorder.
What should i do??
I dont have it wired with a S-cable if that makes a difference.
I have Time warner cable
linkandcuff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-06-2010, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
linkandcuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just finished talking to someone at sony and they are saying i should try recording with a DVD-R and not the DVD+R...i think its a complete guess really but i'll try it tomorrow
linkandcuff is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-06-2010, 05:13 PM
Member
 
i86time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know exactly what Sony error codes translate to, but it sounds like your cable provider (Time Warner) is actively using CGMS-A copy protection. Typically premium channels like HBO and Showtime, if CGMS-A is enabled, will limit you to recording Copy Once content to either a HDD, DVD-RAM or DVD+R, or not at all (Copy Never). Please see this thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1008164

for more information. But if it is enabled, and you're insistant about recording the program, you'll need to by a device that will remove CGMS-A or allow you to set your own flags (e.g. Copy Freely).
i86time is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-07-2010, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by i86time View Post

I don't know exactly what Sony error codes translate to, but it sounds like your cable provider (Time Warner) is actively using CGMS-A copy protection... But if it is enabled, and you're insistant about recording the program, you'll need to by a device that will remove CGMS-A or allow you to set your own flags (e.g. Copy Freely).

Um, that is what the DPX-7000 is, a device that removes CP from a video stream.

Sony's are notorious for sensitivity to CP, so be aware of that. From your description, it sounds like you have it connected properly. I don't have a manual for the device, but from the pictures, there are three adjustments that can be done.

Make sure the NTSC/PAL switch is in the correct position.

The SELECT button I would guess is to select composite or S-Video as the input/output video line. If this were set wrong, you might get the effect you are seeing.

The MODE button I have no idea about. You probably need to try it to see what works. I suspect one mode is "passthrough" which means it is not applying any changes to the video stream, which might account for it not working properly.

There are some posts about the DPX-7000 on this forum, so I recommend you do a search. The search function is your firend! (Or at least, CAN be your friend...)

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-08-2010, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 37
So you are going composite out on your STB into the 7000 then out to input 1 on your DVD recorder? I have a 7000 and it works great. Has to be something in the way you are setting it up. You will figure it out I'm sure.
joed32 is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-21-2010, 06:19 AM
Member
 
Rodney538's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know what he problem is. You have your DVD recorder set to channel 3. When it is set to channel 3, the signal will bypass the Copiall! You must set the DVD recorder to record from the input jacks where you have the cables plugged into. It is usually called, AV1, AV2, LINE, AUX or INPUT (check the label on the DVD recorder or your manual). You can change to those settings by using the INPUT or SOURCE buton on you DVD recorder remote control. Once you make this simple change, the Copiall will work perfectly...whether it is a Sony or not. Good Luck!
Rodney538 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-22-2010, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
znatok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. You can use light indication on your video stabilizer to see if video is passing by.
Take a look here for details:
http://www.xdimax.com/grex_faq/faq_details.html#blink
2. If video is passing by you can try to connect it directly to TV to check video output is OK.

3. If 1 & 2 pass the video is definitely goes into recorder. So now all you have to do is to select the right input source as sad in previous thread.
znatok is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-19-2012, 02:00 PM
Newbie
 
slicker1942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been two years since you sent this post.

I have the same unit. My friend installed it. It didn't work--until he removed the audio cable from the 7000. Works perfectly--
on ALL channels!
slicker1942 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off