Toshiba D-R400 minus original remote - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-28-2010, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yumagah99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I happened onto a 3 year old Toshiba D-R400 recorder. The remote control is missing, but everything else seems to work like new.
It was just something to play with, but after hooking it up I really like the recording and playback picture quality. I'm going to keep using it until the laser dies, which could be sooner or later. I found the code for my universal remote, which gives basic playback and recording controls.

I connected the HDMI out to my AV receiver and the audio comes thru ok. But there is a problem with getting the HDMI video. My tv only supports 1080i/720p and the Toshiba HDMI is stuck on an output setting of 1080p. I downloaded the manual, but it looks like the only way to change the HDMI res is by a button on the remote labeled "HDMI". I tried 2 universal remotes, but they do not emulate this button. A replacement Toshiba remote is selling for $30, which is not an option for this throwaway unit. So I can use all the features except for the HDMI upconverting. Any ideas for a hack?

Friends don't let friends use composite video.
yumagah99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-28-2010, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I wonder if a Toshiba DVD player might work? Many times DVD players and DVDRs use the same remote code and you might be able to locate a cheaper Toshiba DVD player for $20-30. That or purchase a new recorder or player at a place like BB, use the remote to change your setting and return the unit like new.
You could also post your location and maybe someone in your town might have a remote you could borrow to change the setting.
Is the DVDR Funai built or a older Toshiba Toshiba? If the first a newer Funai remote will probably not work.
jjeff is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-28-2010, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,979
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Go to walgreens and get an RCA RCRP05B for $8.50 and program the DVD button for device code 1008. That will give you most of the functions. Add any missing ones using the list below:

Code:
0       00055
1       00185
2       00183
3       00187
4       00180
5       00184
6       00182
7       00186
8       00053
9       00057
enter   00164
clear   00107
return  00111
up arrow        00173
down arrow      00045
left arrow      00044
right arrow     00172
record  00120
pause   00122
play    00123
stop    00118
rewind  00253
fast fwd        00255
skip fwd        00189
skip back       00188
time slip       00247
play 1.3x/0.8x  00095
instant skip    00235
repeat  00236
rec mode        00226
zoom    00230
top menu        00109
menu/list       00113
setup   00103
display 00231
audio   00115
satellite link  00248
timer prog      00165
input select    00058
hdmi    00157
open/close      00121
power   00119
To add a code to a button, hold Setup for 2 blinks, press 994, press and release setup enter a code from the list above, press the destination button (2 blinks for success).

To save buttons, I like to put some functions on shifted buttons, i.e., setup-Stop could be open/close. To do that just press setup before the destination button when assigning a code using the steps above. To use the shifted function, just press setup followed by the button.

You may even already own a remote that will work with the above codes. All of these have the code in question or 1510 which also works: Atlas5, Comcast 1067BX3, or Cox URC-7820B (prepend 2 to the device code on the comcast). There are also about 20 other models that will work (mostly radio shack and one-for-all), if you don't like the RCA.

EDIT: I posted absolutely every function from the original remote, which I owned for a while. If you're curious, the remote code is protocol NEC1, device 69, subdevice 188. It is solely a Toshiba code which has nothing in common with any other make (funai, magnavox, etc.) as far as I can tell. I also did a brute force search back when I had the R400 and was unable to find any additional commands like discrete on and off. As a workaround, I used Play for discrete on and Play-Power for discrete off. That worked fairly well, if I'm remembering correctly.

I don't know if it shares any codes with other Toshiba DVD players, but I assume so, since it is such a common code that was in use before these recorders existed, probably the same as many Toshiba VCR's. I can tell you that it does not share any codes with Toshiba HD-DVD players.

I rather liked the R400 but couldn't live without flex recording mode like panasonic has. I had to sell it when DirecTV started padding all recordings by a few minutes.
mdavej is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-28-2010, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

Is the DVDR Funai built or a older Toshiba Toshiba? If the first a newer Funai remote will probably not work.

The initial issue of the Toshiba DR400 Specification Sheet dates from late 2005 with a copyright year of 2006. That is during the changeover period from Toshiba-built DVD recorders to Funai-built DVD recorders.

Owing to it's support of DVD+R media I'm inclined to believe that this is a Funai-built model. The "genuine" Toshiba DVD recorders of that period do not support DVD+R media.

While my Funai-built Toshiba D-RW2 (manufactured in February 2006) has a typical Funai style "large brick" remote, see the first photo, it does not use the remote codes common between Funai-built Magnavox, Emerson, PYE and Sylvania DVD recorders. A current version of the Funai "large brick" remote is seen with a Funai "small brick" remote in the second photo. There are other standard Funai remote styles, including the "hour-glass" or "mid-scallop" style remotes seen in the third and fourth photos.
LL
LL
LL
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-28-2010, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yumagah99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions. The unit I have was built in Sept 2007, and uses the same remote that the later models D-R410 and D-R420 did. I live in the Chicago metro area. If I can find someone who has this remote I could teach the HDMI button command to my Philips Universal Remote PMDVD6. I also have a GE Universal remote RM24918 without learning function. The first (or only) code given for Toshiba DVD Recorders worked for most commands, including record. For the Philips this was 998, for the GE it was 0398.

The RCA remote mentioned by mdavej sounds like it will do what I need. I am wondering if I can somehow use the code 00157 for HDMI to program my Philips remote.

Friends don't let friends use composite video.
yumagah99 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-28-2010, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,979
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Those codes won't work with the philips or GE, or anything but UEI for that matter. You can also get the RCA at best buy. Radio shack models 15-100, 133, 134, or 135 will work too. I think Sears might have the URC-8820N or 10820N that used these codes. Walgreens is still the cheapest option by far, if you have those there.
mdavej is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-29-2010, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yumagah99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Success! Many thanks to mdavej. What better example of the power of online forums like this. I could not have gotten support like this from Toshiba, and what would I have had to pay to have a pro come and do this for me??

There is a Walgreens on almost every corner around here, I had to visit two before I found the RCA remote for $8.49. I entered the codes and now everything is working smoothly. I used the RCRP05B to teach the HDMI button to my Philips remote which supports 6 devices.

So I got my first upscaling player for minimal cost, and the unit was saved from a landfill where it would have ended for lack of a remote. My tv has a native res. of 1366x766, so setting the HDMI output to 720p gives a slight but noticeable improvement over 480p. No surprise it does not look like true HD, but there is a real reduction in "artifacting" on quick motion. Funny the colors are a bit more subdued on this Toshiba than on my generic DVD player running thru component video.

Thanks again to the forum members here.

Friends don't let friends use composite video.
yumagah99 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-29-2013, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
Rudy1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

good day i have a "toshiba D-R400 dvd recorder and the remote is missing can u please advised where i can purchase an original remote for this player,thanks a millionĀ 

Rudy1971 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-29-2013, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
RichardT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Clarkston, Washington (State), Southeast corner
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a friend with a Toshiba TV that he was given, no remote. I did a google search for, actually, the user manual which had a picture of the remote from which I got the part number which I then ordered from eBay, $18.00. Original remote, not a universal which has to be tailored. Should be here tomorrow. Probably worth a bit of work to get the original.
RichardT is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-29-2013, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,979
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 383
I disagree, especially for a TV remote. A $4 universal or free cable tv remote will do 95% of the functions out of the box, and you can add the other 5% after 2 minutes of programming. Plus a universal will do far more than an original remote, controlling every device in your rack as well as do macros (activities), volume punch through and learning.

Rudy, obviously, IMO, the original remote is a total waste of money. But I'm sure you can find one on ebay. My solution is cheap, easy and works 100%. If I had a $50 device like this long obsolete DVD recorder, there's no way I would pay $20-$40 just for a remote.
mdavej is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off