Very Basic Magnavox 2080/2160/513 question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 09-17-2010, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie here with VERY basic question. I have read thru Wajo's very detailed explanations. Tons of great info which answered most of my other questions, but still can't seem to figure this out.

With this DVR, how do you change the mode of recording on the unit so it records DVDs in Video Mode and not VR mode (which seems to be the default)? I have tried over and over, going thru everything on the remote and reading these forums, but can't find it. Probably bc is so basic!

Thanks for any help with this. Also, was I supposed to post this as a new thread or use "reply" under the Magnavox 2080/2160/513 thread already started? Just was not sure if anyone would see it if I posted it there...

Thanks again!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-17-2010, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
There is no way to change the default "+VR" video file recording mode. For better and worse, the company that makes the Magnavoxes (and many other recorder brands) has established this "+VR" file format as the new defacto DVD recorder standard. Unlike older recorders like Pioneers, which gave a choice of VR or Video modes, the Funai-based recorders are in +VR mode all the time. Its a good idea to go into the Magnavox general settings menu, then the recording options menu, and turn on the "make recordings compatible" option. This normalizes a few things. And remember to finalize any disc (except DVD+RW) you expect to play in other units or rip to a PC.