Burning a DVD from Verizon Fios DVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 02-26-2011, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi .. I'm a newbie & appreciate your help. I'd like to burn some DVDs of recordings stored on my Verizon Fios DVR. I'd like the DVR recorder to be portable as I have two DVRs.

Would the Sony Diret DVD Recorder MC-6 work? And something I could connect easily?

Also would movies off Turner Classic typically be copyright protected or could i burn a dvd? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 02-26-2011, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 90
The Sony seems to be a nice unit but the few posts from users on AVS have been negative. Mostly due to Sony's incessant copy protection issues which errors on the side of restricting a recording(even if the source isn't actually CP'd). For this reason I'd strongly advise against getting that unit or any newer Sony DVDR. Don't take me as being a Sony basher, I have lots and lots of things Sony in my house(I love their players) just not Sony DVDRs.
From what I've read TCM should not be CP'd, but all bets would be off AFA using a Sony DVDR.
While not as portable as the Sony a recorder like the Magnavox 515(or any of it's older cousins) would be a much better choice. Check Wajo's top sticky for more on the Magnavoxes.
If you really have your heart set on the Sony, if you have a open set of component outputs on your DVR, something like this should cheaply remove any CP issues, although with a Sony one never knows
post #3 of 14 Old 02-26-2011, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJPJ View Post

Hi .. I'm a newbie & appreciate your help. I'd like to burn some DVDs of recordings stored on my Verizon Fios DVR. I'd like the DVR recorder to be portable as I have two DVRs.