DVR with component input help? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 03:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I would like to know the following if a DVR has component inputs can I assume that I can use it for record gameplay from my PS3 or any other source TV etc?

Also if the DVR has 480p,720p and 1080i can I select which one I want?



Thank you very much for your answers I need to know because I want to purchase one

PS: Do you guys know how to import things from china?
48wiekjhf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 33
wow..............
billmich is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently I have got a Philips DVDR3400 model 37 which has component inputs but can only go up to 480i, I haven't yet purchased the LKV384 which is an HDMI to component video + stereo audio converter.



I wanted to know if this setup can work with hte Philips DVDR3400 and then with a DVR like in the image I posted above?
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
I only have experience with the HDMI>Composite/S-Video converter and it works well, as described here.

I can't see why a HDMI>Component converter wouldn't also work, and maybe better since that same link I gave describes a Component>Composite/S-Vid converter that's not quite as good as the HDMI converter. So, converting to Component *should* be a step better?
wajo is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@wajo: Thanks for your answer I am going then to purchase it, and I will put results my concerns are because the converter is because Philips DVDR3400 goes up to 480i and the converter goes up from 480p to 1080i.

Also my first question was about DVRS that have component input and can record directly in 480p 576p 720p and/or 1080i, do you think that the same setup would apply and can it be made, because I would like to import it from China since it is the only country in the world, right now that I see a DVR has capability plus you can grab the content from the usb port of the DVR, to an external usb hard drive
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 08:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Well, I don't have a PS3 and have only read of people recording their game play, most successfully. I know my HDMI>Composite/S-Vid converter strips Copy Protection (and CC) but I don't think that will affect PS3 output. Just don't know, sorry.

If you do want to get the HDMI>Component converter, they're available in the U.S. from many places, including Monoprice ($39.92), where I got my converter. They're also an AVS sponsor and great for cables.
wajo is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@wajo: Thanks but I'm from Europe I am going to order through ebay but regarding the DVR if the DVR has component inputs it can take out directly the recordings in 720p and 1080i right with this little device?
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
You'll have to check the specs of the DVR you're talking about. If it's a true DVR (no DVD burner), it prob. does have settngs for resolutions/formats, but make sure before you buy. and make sure it is settable/selectable by the user.
wajo is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@wajo:I have pmed you with the details of the DVR if you could take a look at the settings of it I appreciate

Thanks wajo
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Logic Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Could you also PM me on the DVR with components input details?

Thank You
Logic Design is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
replied to you Logic Design
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Logic Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
48wiekjhf,

Thank You,

I was reading the manual and looks like it is a PAL unit. Is PAL the standard where you reside? Do you know if there is an NTSC version of this unit?
Logic Design is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 08-07-2011, 11:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Logic Design: Like I said in the pm this unit is only being sold atm in China not anywhere else in the world, so it would be hard to get but not impossible.

I live in Europe so it's not where I reside.

From the same company that is selling that converter I saw that there is a ntsc/pal converter so there is something that can help you out if you want to change the version

I will reply with more of my findings on how to import from China, but before I order I am going to call the Headquarters even if I have to speak to some Chinese from that company and ask for a person that speas English, just to know if that USB function is the real deal, I will keep you posted
48wiekjhf is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off