Recorder with HDMI Inputs? Yes it exists - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 172 Old 04-29-2013, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiphones View Post

...As I understood the MTV7000 would be a better solution as it has less limitations on HDMI recordings?

The standard MTV7000 model is no longer manufactured and it was replaced with Mini model. The only difference between two is lack of component inputs in mini which does not matter if you plan to use two hdmi inputs. Everything else is the same including features as well as limitations. I use my mini's for several months now and they do perform excellent so far. Good luck.
esdwa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 172 Old 05-08-2013, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Seeker47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone82 
Interesting thing i found out today when i asked a ebay seller if he had any 'ViewHD' HDMI to component converters. Yes he still has them but will only sell via email and will not list them on ebay. They have also disapeared from Amazon. Seems like hes been told to remove them. These units are the same sort of thing as the HDfury. They must be really cracking down on anything that accepts a HDMI signal and ignores the copy protection.

So, you're saying the View-HD supply has dried up ? Good thing I got mine before they got scarce. I mentioned this in another thread, but some early reports were indicating that this little box

http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/334145-HDCP-strippers?p=2217543&viewfull=1#post2217543

worked and could be a game-changer . . . at least until they try to squelch it also. But my hope is that whatever Big Content tries to suppress, their efforts will amount to no better than a game of whack-a-mole, because other options will keep emerging.
Seeker47 is offline  
post #153 of 172 Old 06-29-2013, 01:34 AM
Newbie
 
hifiphones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my MTV7000-Mini, awesome thing!
The only problem so far is that I cannot rename the sources?

I can rename Input 3 which is composite, but Input 1 and 2 which are HDMI cannot be renamed? Any ideas?

hifiphones is offline  
post #154 of 172 Old 06-29-2013, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Weird. Mine allows assigning name to each input including custom name.


It is available in Setup menu under this option
esdwa is offline  
post #155 of 172 Old 06-30-2013, 04:15 AM
Newbie
 
hifiphones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cheers, did mine also under setup but cannot select input 1 and 2. Do you have the newest firmware?
hifiphones is offline  
post #156 of 172 Old 06-30-2013, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
hifiphones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Allright, after updating my firmware from 7.02 to 7.05 i found out that there was an input selected under nowTV and cableTV. After changing the input to "none" I was able to change the name smile.gif
hifiphones is offline  
post #157 of 172 Old 07-01-2013, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiphones View Post

Got my MTV7000-Mini, awesome thing!

Congratulations! Do you buy it in the US?
profhat is offline  
post #158 of 172 Old 07-02-2013, 03:14 AM
Newbie
 
hifiphones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, got it from HK
hifiphones is offline  
post #159 of 172 Old 07-02-2013, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by profhat View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiphones View Post

Got my MTV7000-Mini, awesome thing!

Congratulations! Do you buy it in the US?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiphones View Post

No, got it from HK

What I am interested in is exactly HOW you got it from HK, or more specifically, how we can get one?

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #160 of 172 Old 07-25-2013, 04:40 AM
Newbie
 
hifiphones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Church AV Guy View Post


What I am interested in is exactly HOW you got it from HK, or more specifically, how we can get one?

I got a mate in HK, who went into a local shop and bought it for me, then shipped to Europe.

One thing I have noticed is, when I am playing a recording a small "PLAY" sign appears on the LEFT top corner. Is this normal, or can be disabled somehow? Quite annoying when this sign appears every 1minute.
hifiphones is offline  
post #161 of 172 Old 07-25-2013, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiphones View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Church AV Guy View Post


What I am interested in is exactly HOW you got it from HK, or more specifically, how we can get one?

I got a mate in HK, who went into a local shop and bought it for me, then shipped to Europe.

One thing I have noticed is, when I am playing a recording a small "PLAY" sign appears on the LEFT top corner. Is this normal, or can be disabled somehow? Quite annoying when this sign appears every 1minute.

I had a feeling your source was something like that. Not really a general source for the public, is it. Thanks for the information though.

That PLAY sign sounds like a bit of a distraction. frown.gif

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #162 of 172 Old 07-26-2013, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi guys, do you think that the new Google's CHROMECAST HDMI device will work with the MTV-7000 line?

profhat is offline  
post #163 of 172 Old 08-02-2013, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Church AV Guy View Post

That PLAY sign sounds like a bit of a distraction. frown.gif

It can be turned off in Settings menu. Read manual or just browse on your device, you will find it.
esdwa is offline  
post #164 of 172 Old 10-17-2013, 04:09 PM
Member
 
TheFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

There is a newcomer in the HDMI recording field, check this indiegogo project: http://igg.me/at/wizarm/

Or video link here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcLuppUAkr4

Looks great !
TheFreeman is offline  
post #165 of 172 Old 10-17-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFreeman View Post

Hi,

There is a newcomer in the HDMI recording field, check this indiegogo project: http://igg.me/at/wizarm/

Or video link here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcLuppUAkr4

Looks great !
Please stop spamming the threads with this.
If I see it one more time I'm going to report it.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #166 of 172 Old 01-20-2014, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
CoastRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post


Please stop spamming the threads with this.
If I see it one more time I'm going to report it.


Kelson,  I saw your comment about the Wizarm device.  I wasn't able to figure your thoughts about it, except that you might not care for it.  Is it real or a sham?  Does it work as advertised?  Can you provide some skinny on the device? 

 

Thanks,

 

CR

CoastRanger is offline  
post #167 of 172 Old 01-20-2014, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Clint S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How many tuners does that Wizarm device have? Doesn't say on the webpage. Do you have to use a PC with it or is it stand-alone like a DVR?

God Bless,
-Clint
Clint S. is offline  
post #168 of 172 Old 05-09-2014, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
snovvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I ended up with (two) MTV7000D-MINI. On first look, it seems to do what it claims. Now I should be able to offload my live concert recordings from the PVR so I can get it replaced... Interesting box--lots of features.

My AV receiver has two HDMI outputs--one main and one sub. I have the MINI connected to the sub. My theory is that it can then capture any source coming into the receiver (Chromecast, Xbox, etc.). I have the output of the MINI connected to one of the TV's spare input. I noticed that the picture coming out of the MINI is cooler than one directly from the PVR. I wonder if there is a setting for that....
snovvman is offline  
post #169 of 172 Old 05-09-2014, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
@snovvman
Just make sure your sub hdmi always outputs 1080i, not 1080p which is not uncommon these days.

On contrary my setup contains jtech hdmi 2x4 matrix. This way any of my sources which I use for recording can be directed to MINI and at the same time to the receiver bypassing MINI when needed.
esdwa is offline  
post #170 of 172 Old 06-25-2014, 08:17 AM
Member
 
larryccf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Church AV Guy View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by hifiphones

Quote: Originally Posted by Church AV Guy


What I am interested in is exactly HOW you got it from HK, or more specifically, how we can get one?


I got a mate in HK, who went into a local shop and bought it for me, then shipped to Europe.

One thing I have noticed is, when I am playing a recording a small "PLAY" sign appears on the LEFT top corner. Is this normal, or can be disabled somehow? Quite annoying when this sign appears every 1minute.


I had a feeling your source was something like that. Not really a general source for the public, is it. Thanks for the information though.

That PLAY sign sounds like a bit of a distraction.
fwiw worth - not sure if you're aware all the carriers (DHL, UPS, Fedex etc) offer pickup svc. UPS will now let you set up an account with online and free. Once you've established the acct, if the vendor will pkg the item and supply you with the weight & dimensions, you can either order a pickup by UPS or print a UPS shipping label that you email to the vendor to use on the pkg. Surprisingly, the pickup svc added quite a bit to a shipment from a supplier in germany, but the label printing route didn't - cost was the same as if i'd shipped the package to them from our location (i have an online business & a UPS account).

i noticed one poster mentioned the vendors would not ship to the UPS, but printing the label and emailing it to them for use, makes you the shipper, and takes it out from under their responsibility. It's should be worth a try asking the vendor

again, fwiw
larryccf is online now  
post #171 of 172 Old 06-26-2014, 08:28 AM
Member
 
larryccf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just checked magicTV's website and they've got four new models out, the highest end is the MTV8000D http://www.magictv.com/hk/en/mtv8000d.html
and pricing is up to $4280 HK$ or approx $552 USD

http://www.magictv.com/hk/en/mtv8000d.html
larryccf is online now  
post #172 of 172 Old 06-27-2014, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
snovvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esdwa View Post
@snovvman
Just make sure your sub hdmi always outputs 1080i, not 1080p which is not uncommon these days.

On contrary my setup contains jtech hdmi 2x4 matrix. This way any of my sources which I use for recording can be directed to MINI and at the same time to the receiver bypassing MINI when needed.
I'll take a look at that. Thank you.

Edit: BTW, since I have an extra one that I don't need, what is the best way/place to sell that? CL? Do people even know what it is? I'm in the U.S.
snovvman is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Tivo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off