Recorder with HDMI Inputs? Yes it exists - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 172 Old 08-10-2011, 04:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How are you guys well I just in my researchs since I was doing every research concerning the other DVR etc to know the characteristics, which I'm about to get tomorrow, (but the most it can go on a chinese forum is 720x576i).

I have found out that in China there exists the recorder which has HDMI inputs:



Also it has more inputs:
2x HDMI (HD)
1x Component (HD)
1x S-Video (SD)
1x Composite (SD)

I don't know if you already it by know but if not get ready to be blown by the recorder but also by the price 500 dollars not counting with the import which might cost a lot more the version before 3700D although it«s called a recorder but it doesn't have inputs at all!

Check out the comparison:
http://www.magictv.com/hk/en/mtv7000d.html

HDCP is not even mentioned anywhere maybe because it's uh ... China or in this case Hong Kong
48wiekjhf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CitiBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Sounds interesting, depends on availability and pricing. But unless its "fully compliant" (i.e. "crippled from actually recording anything") there's no way it could be imported to North America without running afoul at the border. Small packages containing mysterious dongles (like the HDfury adapters) can be ordered by individuals and skip past inspection easily, but a larger box containing an obvious recording device is much more likely to get held up. We'll just have to see.

I'm not particularly thrilled with recorders requiring a web connection to their own Guide service- TiVO may have pulled this off, but its been a mess for everyone else who tried it. This recorder also misses the mark in terms of the ridiculously unrealistic expectations Americans have: they want a cheap unit costing under $300 that REPLACES their cable box so they can avoid the monthly fee. This one appears designed to work WITH a cable decoder as an advanced accessory, a nice idea for those who can appreciate it but not the typical consumer. Cable integration is the Holy Grail of American recorders: no one has managed it effectively except TiVO, where it comes at a stiff price and still requires cooperation/hardware from the cable service. Then of course we have the huge penetration of competing satellite services which aren't compatible with anything.

While this MagicTV 7000D would probably not cut it as a mass market item in US/Canada, it would be great to have available as an alternative machine for those willing and able to understand its features. Hope it manages to get here in some form, even if we have to buy a "Now" TV to go with it.
CitiBear is offline  
post #3 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im trying to find a blu ray recorder with component inputs.

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #4 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 56
According to the web site you posted, the MTV7000D costs $3980 MSRP. That's a bit more then $500. Even the 3700 says it's $2980, which only has dual tuner lilsted as an input, no video inputs at all. Other than that. it simply looks too good to be true. There is no info on the tuners.

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #5 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw some chinese forums commenting that you could record it in 1080p from the HDMI input because people didn't want the Hauppauge also only in China.

Now I saw a blog and wrote to the author of it to get more info but still hasn't responded take a look:

http://www.ordinarygweilo.com/2011/0...-mtv7000d.html

It's a british living in hong kong,

I also saw in my researchs that there exists another one but it doesn't have hdmi inputs and I think it only supports 1080i as component inputs the models are VD-R

here is the website:
http://vdigi.com.hk/productlist.php?cat=5

The model the cheapest must be the 160 GB of course I will call them tomorrow and take a look and tell you what they said to me
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #6 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There exists one model from those which are from the Vdigi that has no disk inside:

http://vdigi.com.hk/productdetail.php?prod=39

Last price I saw online but not said from them was 1500 hong kong dollars so it's almost 200 us dollars remember no disk inside you have to buy it yourself
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #7 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
mmihalik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Church AV Guy View Post

According to the web site you posted, the MTV7000D costs $3980 MSRP. That's a bit more then $500.

Hong Kong dollars. Current conversion rate is about $510 USD.

I'm going to check with one of my colleagues in Hong Kong.

M2 in OR
-----------------------------------
we live in interesting times
-----------------------------------
mmihalik is offline  
post #8 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmihalik View Post

Hong Kong dollars. Current conversion rate is about $510 USD.

I'm going to check with one of my colleagues in Hong Kong.

Cool man thanks please let us know about that me I would rather be interested in V DIGI since it has component input capabilities but I still need to know the exact price of the 160GB and the Rwo version (with no disk)

Also I really need to know if it can record up to 1080i through the component inputs, one thing is certain the USB exportation of recorded shows is a whole new level
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #9 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 01:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 410
If you are willing to spend $500 on a chinese import, just buy a TiVo.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #10 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

If you are willing to spend $500 on a chinese import, just buy a TiVo.

The thing is that I don't think a TiVo let's you record through hdmi iinput or component input.

Also I am not interest about this unit Magic TV 7000D, I was more interested into DVR2008 which is a Philips but then I understood that it could go up to 720x576i with component inputs and the speed of usb exporting things was more like a usb 1 instead of usb 2.0.

While these ones are more faster in terms of usb exporting, I am interested into the V Digi that has a lot of versions but the one which is cheaper might be the VD-Rwo which has no disk.

Tomorrow I'll ask them about the prices and tell you regarding the Magic TV 7000D it is the price you saw 3980 HK$ Hong kong dollars so more like 500-510 US dollars. (Without counting with the importation)

Philips DVR2008 was and is the cheapest solution but has no HDMI output and slower transfers from hdd to usb so I would prefer the VDigi VD-Rwo or VDigi VD-R 160 GB cheapest
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #11 of 172 Old 08-11-2011, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
even if the input is non HDCP dont the outputs on the device u are recording from, have to be non HDCP as well for it to record ?

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #12 of 172 Old 08-12-2011, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Is there any information on what the tuners are capable of tuning in?

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #13 of 172 Old 08-12-2011, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
48wiekjhf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Church AV Guy View Post

Is there any information on what the tuners are capable of tuning in?

Manual in english says this:

1.3 Magic TVHardware Differences
MTV3x00 Receivers (single and dual tuner models)
Compact case
Add external USB Hard Disk Drives (HDDs) to enable full Magic TV
recording ability
Single tuner allows recording of 2 channels (USB HDD required) and
you can watch a third providing all 3 channels are broadcast on the
same UHF frequency (see table opposite)
Dual tuners allow recording of 2 channels (USB HDD required) on 2
different UHF frequencies and you can watch a third providing it is
also broadcast on one of those same frequencies (see table opposite)
Sigma Designs SMP8655 processor
HDMI 1.3 output
MTV3x00 Recorders (single and dual tuner models)
As MTV3x00 Receivers but adds:
Compact metal case
Internal Hard Disk Drive for extra convenience
MTV7000D Recorder
As MTV3x00 Recorders but adds:
Full size metal case
Front panel buttons
High Definition HDMI and analogue video inputs for recording
external sources (e.g. Now TV and Cable TV)
Channels on same frequencies
(Applies to Hong Kong only. Correct as of 18th June 2010)
UHF frequency#1 CH11, CH16, CH81, CH84
UHF frequency#2 CH82, CH83, CH85
UHF frequency#3 CH12, CH13, CH14, CH15
For example, single tuner models can record channel 82 and 83
simultaneously, and then you can also watch channel 85 at the
same time.
With dual tuner models you could record channel 11 and channel
82 simultaneously, and watch any of 16, 81, 84, 83 and 85 at the
same time.

PAGE 9

Link to pdf file

http://www.magictv.com/hk/downloads/...0Guide_eng.pdf
48wiekjhf is offline  
post #14 of 172 Old 08-12-2011, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Dan Filice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't the idea of a recorder with HDMI input to enable HD recording, or at least record HD channels onto a DVD? I'd bet that it would be impossible to record HD content using HDMI from any satellite or cable source. That's why my HD DVR has an option to record out only via composite, which sadly defaults to 4:3. The suppliers do not want us to record their 16:9 content.
Dan Filice is offline  
post #15 of 172 Old 08-12-2011, 05:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Filice View Post
Isn't the idea of a recorder with HDMI input to enable HD recording, or at least record HD channels onto a DVD? I'd bet that it would be impossible to record HD content using HDMI from any satellite or cable source. That's why my HD DVR has an option to record out only via composite, which sadly defaults to 4:3. The suppliers do not want us to record their 16:9 content.
You prob. need a Component- or HDMI-Composite converter as listed here.

(Same answer to your other question in other thread?)
wajo is offline  
post #16 of 172 Old 08-15-2011, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by 48wiekjhf View Post
Manual in english says this:
.
.
.
The intent of my question was, Is that tuner capable of receiving over the air channels in the United States using an antenna?

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #17 of 172 Old 08-16-2011, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Dan Filice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Church AV Guy View Post
The intent of my question was, Is that tuner capable of receiving over the air channels in the United States using an antenna?
Page 22 of the User Manual shows a picture of an aerial antenna connected to the device with a coax cable that is connected to the Ant-In connection on the back. I would say "Yes" to your question based on the manual.
Dan Filice is offline  
post #18 of 172 Old 08-16-2011, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
airbook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Filice View Post
Page 22 of the User Manual shows a picture of an aerial antenna connected to the device with a coax cable that is connected to the Ant-In connection on the back. I would say "Yes" to your question based on the manual.
Or maybe just Hong Kong channels since it is not made for sale in the USA?
airbook is offline  
post #19 of 172 Old 08-16-2011, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by airbook View Post
Or maybe just Hong Kong channels since it is not made for sale in the USA?
In the USA ATSC tuners are necessary to receive broadcast sub-channels:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATSC_(standards)

Products designed for use in other regions of the world use different television standards:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...nts_by_country

One would have to mount an antenna pretty high up to receive line of sight digital TV signals from Hong Kong.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #20 of 172 Old 08-16-2011, 09:31 PM
Member
 
Dan Filice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ahh yes...Hong Kong. Isn't an aerial antenna high enough to get reception from Hong Kong called satellite?
Dan Filice is offline  
post #21 of 172 Old 08-17-2011, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Thank you. I'm glad the real point of my question was not lost on everyone. I am guessing that the tuner, as has been suggested here, is for Hong Kong stations, and in the U. S. will be as useless as the one in my EH59. (The EH59 manual also has a page which shows an aerial antenna connected to the recorder with a coax cable that is connected to the Ant-In connection on the back. That doesn't mean it will work here in North America, because it does NOT work here.)

Given this realization, that would mean the 3700, which only has dual tuner lilsted as an input, no video inputs at all, would be totally useless here.

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #22 of 172 Old 08-17-2011, 05:12 PM
Member
 
DocCarbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The first thing I learned working in foreign countries an even here in the States

There is NO STANDARD and that's the problem with Electronics in General among other things .

Didn't mean to butt in ; Doc ...
DocCarbon is offline  
post #23 of 172 Old 08-28-2011, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Maybe Funai should begin to think of upgrading its products...




Until then, I'm seriously thinking to import one of these before it will be barely legal just to have an electronic device with HDMI inputs, even a HTPC.

Sorry, FCC.


videobruce likes this.
profhat is offline  
post #24 of 172 Old 08-29-2011, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Very pretty. I like the bright colors on the back panel and the remote. Wonder if they're lead-paint. Better not touch food or your eyes after changing channel.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #25 of 172 Old 08-29-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

..Better not touch food or your eyes after changing channel.

Killjoy.





gastrof is offline  
post #26 of 172 Old 08-29-2011, 11:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Looks intelesting.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #27 of 172 Old 11-27-2011, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Pixel Magic now sells a new model with 1TB HDD.

http://www.magictv.com/hk/en/mtv7000d.html

Thanks for nothing FCC .
profhat is offline  
post #28 of 172 Old 01-08-2012, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forums in English for New Zealand and Australian users here:

http://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.asp

Seems to be a lot of people using them in those countries...
Doug O is offline  
post #29 of 172 Old 01-20-2012, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Here's an Aussie board with more information about the MTV-7000D:

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1813180

Worth reading it.
profhat is offline  
post #30 of 172 Old 01-25-2012, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyclone82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This looks very good. I have had a little experience with some chinese brand devices and they always seem to give you a lot of features for you money. They usually give you all things you would want to have on known household brand device.

The conneCtivity on this is awesome. I know not many use composite and S-video connections these days but its just nice to have those if ever you need to connect to some old school gear. Now if I can record to the hard drive via RCA’s and HDMI and transfer both ways via USB I would be pretty happy. Now the big question, will the tuner work with Australian DVB-T? I think it might, if not, its probably not a big deal as I already have a HD Freeview set top box for free to air channels. Not real sure what they IR receiver shown with the blue leads is all about. It even runs on 12v DC.

Very tempting but I wonder what other competing products there are?
Cyclone82 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Tivo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off