MAgnavox MDR515H and Logic Design video filter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-01-2011, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
VampireSlug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife and I bought a Logic Design (Zorilla) video filter a while back and, before we could test it our DVD recorder died, then we replaced it and I was never able to get a tape to copy. I'm using a Sony SLV-495 VCR and a Magnavox MDR515H DVR/DVD recorder with composite cables. I've tried every switch on every setting on the filter and was unable to record to either the HD or a DVD.

I finally removed the VCR and hooked it up to my new PC with a video capture card with the filter between them and get a "No video signal detected, check the source video" message even though I can see and hear the movie in the preview window.

What could my problem be? It's been WAY past the 30 days so I'm stuck with the filter regardless so I'd really like to get it to work if only once. Any suggestions? I've also tried an older Toshiba VCR with the same results. I love the MDR515H but wish I could get the filter to work.
VampireSlug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-01-2011, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireSlug View Post

I'm using a Sony SLV-495 VCR and a Magnavox MDR515H DVR/DVD recorder with composite cables. I've tried every switch on every setting on the filter and was unable to record to either the HD or a DVD.

Maybe you have "S-Video" selected for the input you are using. In the Magnavox menu go to General Setting> Video> Video Input and make sure "Video In" is selected for the connection you are using for the VCR.
Ken.F is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-02-2011, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
VampireSlug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post

Maybe you have "S-Video" selected for the input you are using. In the Magnavox menu go to General Setting> Video> Video Input and make sure "Video In" is selected for the connection you are using for the VCR.

I am able to copy non-protected VHS tapes so the connection is working, even passing through the filter, but the minute Macrovision rears its ugly head everything comes to a screeching halt.
VampireSlug is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-02-2011, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireSlug View Post

I am able to copy non-protected VHS tapes so the connection is working, even passing through the filter, but the minute Macrovision rears its ugly head everything comes to a screeching halt.


Maybe shoot a PM to Logic Design. He probably has some tips for you.
Ken.F is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-02-2011, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tomwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Here is another unresolved thread concerning the Video Filter. I've been waiting for resolutions before purchasing.

That which may be known of God is evident within man, for God has shown it to them, so that they are without excuse. (Romans 1:19-20)
tomwil is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-02-2011, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Not that it helps the OP but with my (3) trusty Sima CT-2s I have yet to have a DVD(or BD) refuse to copy Unfortunately 2 of the 3 slightly raise the black level so I mainly share the 1 between multiple DVDRs but I'm really impressed how these things last. Note I always unplug them when not in use(they tend to run rather warm) which may be part of the reason they have lasted so long.
I'm not sure why the one has the correct black level and the other 2 do not but when I took one apart I saw nothing to adjust so I'm just chalking it up to rather poor QC It's one reason I was also interested in the VF because I had not heard of black level problems but since I have one good Sima I guess that's enough
jjeff is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-03-2011, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Logic Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I bought a Magnavox MDR515 myself, to study what the issue is.
Have been working on this for many hours now. It involves, not only the CGMS line 20 capability but, also using line 21 field 2 XDS capability.
That is, the CGMS data can also be included in line 21 fiels 2 using Extended Data Services protocol. This is all part of CEA-608B Standard. After checking out that I am complying with that, the Magnavox is still intermittent when recording.
If I remove the colorburst component of the S-Video signal, for example, the unit records fine, which tells me that the unit is also looking at colorstripe although I have not actually seen it in the video source.

So, I am still working on it.
Logic Design is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-03-2011, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
keithjfro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 515 and I must say am very pleased with it so far despite the primitive way to name a title. That's about the lone complaint I have.
keithjfro7 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-04-2011, 08:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Logic Design View Post

I bought a Magnavox MDR515 myself, to study what the issue is.
Have been working on this for many hours now. It involves, not only the CGMS line 20 capability but, also using line 21 field 2 XDS capability.
That is, the CGMS data can also be included in line 21 fiels 2 using Extended Data Services protocol. This is all part of CEA-608B Standard. After checking out that I am complying with that, the Magnavox is still intermittent when recording.
If I remove the colorburst component of the S-Video signal, for example, the unit records fine, which tells me that the unit is also looking at colorstripe although I have not actually seen it in the video source.

So, I am still working on it.

Why are you checking the Mag 515 when he said he couldn't get the filter to work direct to his PC instead? That's ilLOGICal! Are you going to buy his PC and check that too?

He also said he had never tested the filter since he got it or the 515, so he doesn't know if it EVER worked.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireSlug View Post

I finally removed the VCR and hooked it up to my new PC with a video capture card with the filter between them and get a "No video signal detected, check the source video" message even though I can see and hear the movie in the preview window.

wajo is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-04-2011, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
VampireSlug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Logic Design View Post

I bought a Magnavox MDR515 myself, to study what the issue is.
Have been working on this for many hours now. It involves, not only the CGMS line 20 capability but, also using line 21 field 2 XDS capability.
That is, the CGMS data can also be included in line 21 fiels 2 using Extended Data Services protocol. This is all part of CEA-608B Standard. After checking out that I am complying with that, the Magnavox is still intermittent when recording.
If I remove the colorburst component of the S-Video signal, for example, the unit records fine, which tells me that the unit is also looking at colorstripe although I have not actually seen it in the video source.

So, I am still working on it.

Thanks, that's a good enough answer for me... I have confidence that you'll figure it out and get back with me.
VampireSlug is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off