Need help with new Magnavox HDD recorder - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2011, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keithjfro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought a Magnavox MDR515H with HDD recorder, works great looks good, satisfied. BUT...........

When I record a 2 hour program, then dub it to DVD-R disc, and then put it in my Sony RDRHX715 recorder instead of one title chapter it's giving me 10 and it looks like the program has been dubbed twice on multiple title numbers.

Help! What am I doing wrong as far as settings?
keithjfro7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2011, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithjfro7 View Post

Bought a Magnavox MDR515H with HDD recorder, works great looks good, satisfied. BUT...........

When I record a 2 hour program, then dub it to DVD-R disc, and then put it in my Sony RDRHX715 recorder instead of one title chapter it's giving me 10 and it looks like the program has been dubbed twice on multiple title numbers.

Help! What am I doing wrong as far as settings?

If you put the DVD-R back in the 515 does it show up as one single title on the DVD?
Ken.F is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithjfro7 View Post

Bought a Magnavox MDR515H with HDD recorder, works great looks good, satisfied. BUT...........

When I record a 2 hour program, then dub it to DVD-R disc, and then put it in my Sony RDRHX715 recorder instead of one title chapter it's giving me 10 and it looks like the program has been dubbed twice on multiple title numbers.

Help! What am I doing wrong as far as settings?

By rights the existing menu created by the Maggie should be appearing when you run the disc on the Sony.

I wonder what you mean by 'it's giving you ten title chapters'. I'm also wondering what you mean by "it looks like the program has been dubbed twice". HOW does it look like that? Are you looking at the Maggie-produced menu (which shows only titles, not chapters) or are you looking at the disc in your computer?
gastrof is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 08:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keithjfro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get the magnavov menu on the Sony after some tinkering, but when I first put it in the Sony after recording only one title I get

Title 1

Title 2

Title 3

Title 4

Title 5

Title 6

etc etc

I also get a second maganov box called "empty space" which is basically blank.

Title 1 when it's in the Sony would have the program I dubbed, and then so would Title 4.

I know it's settings, I just don't have a clue how to do it.
keithjfro7 is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 08:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Did you Finalize the disc in the Mag?

It takes a separate op after dubbing, using the Disc Edit menu.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keithjfro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yep....finalized.
keithjfro7 is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 10:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keithjfro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was right. This is what I get when I dub a one hour program on a DVD-R on the Mag and then put it in the Sony.

Title 1 (Contents of recorded program).

Title 2 (Takes me to Magnavox menu).

Title 3 (Contents of same recorded program in Title 1).

Title 4 (Takes me to Magnavox menu same as Title 2).

So yes, it's listing the same recorded program twice.

It also appears that I can't dub a Ritek 8x DVD-R recorded from a Sony RDR-HX715 onto the HDD of the Magnavox. If that's the case this machine is basically worthless IMO. It does dub from DVD-R to HDD with the same Ritek DVD-R as long as the disc was dubbed from the Mag HDD first. That sucks.
keithjfro7 is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithjfro7 View Post

I was right. This is what I get when I dub a one hour program on a DVD-R on the Mag and then put it in the Sony.

Title 1 (Contents of recorded program).

Title 2 (Takes me to Magnavox menu).

Title 3 (Contents of same recorded program in Title 1).

Title 4 (Takes me to Magnavox menu same as Title 2).

So yes, it's listing the same recorded program twice.

The same thing happens when I put Magnavox burned discs in my Pioneer recorder and I go into the disc Top Menu. The Pioneer's Top Menu is not the title menu that is read from the disc. It's a menu generated by the Pioneer recorder for editing recorded titles on the DVD. When I go into the DVD Menu the correct Magnavox title menu is read from the disc. Does your Sony have separate menus for playing and editing discs?

I believe your Sony is only listing the recorded program twice. I don't think it recorded twice. It sounds like the Sony is reading the .IFO and .BUP files on the disc as separate titles. More info on DVD file structure here.
Ken.F is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keithjfro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same thing happens when I put the disc in my computer too (4 title listings). I could tolerate that but the big issue I have now is that no media burned onto a DVD-R from the Sony HX715 can be dubbed onto the hard drive of this Magnavox.
keithjfro7 is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144
See my answer in the Sticky thread.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keithjfro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK...correction, I THINK it's working! Thanks!!!!!
keithjfro7 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off