Loss of TVGOS on Panny DMR Recorders - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-13-2012, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to report that I lost TVGOS guide data from Cox Cable in Fairfax VA on all my Panny recorders (they are set up in various rooms in the house so it is does not appear to be an analog outlet issue) sometime over the past week or so and am receiving all analog channels normally so it does not appear to be a signal strength issue. I am feeding all my recorders directly from the analog cable not through a cable box. Just wanted to put it out there to see if anyone else in Fairfax is experiencing the same issue (or not!) to verify it is not just a local setup issue at my house. Thanks.

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-17-2012, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I am surprised that anyone, anywhere is still getting TVGOS. I thought it had collapsed into obscurity long ago, and it did in most places. You are lucky to have had it last this long.

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-17-2012, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Actually I get OTA digital TVGOS all the time on my Sony LCD. It's quite reliable but really doesn't do our legacy analog devices much good.
jjeff is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-18-2012, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Breyean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Cox TVGOS here in Phoenix is still working, although last month all the ads went away. That scared me.

My son in Santa Monica has TW, and while on vacation last week his TVGOS disappeared. He did a reset when he got home and he got the grid back, PLUS the ads.
Breyean is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-18-2012, 06:48 PM
Member
 
RxpSGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kenner, La
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I lost TVGOS here with Cox New Orleans about a year ago using my Panny. Local PBS who I think sends out the signal said Cox signal had to be reset, but still did not work. It was useful while working instead of manually setting.
RxpSGR is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-28-2012, 02:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
plplplpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
TVGOS still coming in fine here in Montreal (with Videotron analog cable on a pair of Toshiba RD-XS35s).

The sad thing is I hardly ever use it anymore, since moving to HD on an HTPC with WMC, which also has a good (free!) program guide, and recording space is only limited by the HDDs you install on your machine - in the case of this box, 10,750 TB.
plplplpl is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off