Anyone still mess with VCRs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 59 Old 02-02-2012, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no section for VCRs (for obvious reason) but are there still people using it? The reason why I asked is because I picked up a pair of Panasonic VCRs and a controller that controls both units from the local university. I barely paid anything for it and the model of the VCR is AG-5710. I googled the model and found out that they're marketed towards studios and broadcast systems and are quite expensive back in the day (I think they are made in the late 80s). It all works except the display is a bit dim on the two VCRs, I've never seen such a clean video signal from a VHS tape.

Does anyone here knows a thing or two about these VCRs?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 59 Old 02-02-2012, 08:49 PM

I've been doing videography since the 1980s and have used many of the AG series VCRs. They were Panasonics industrial/professional VCRs and generally have a better picture and are more robust than consumer models. The big AG-7500-7750 series editing decks are really nice.
post #3 of 59 Old 02-02-2012, 09:37 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The DVD recorder section is used for VCR threads.

I've been working in broadcast and production since the early eighties although at work I don't have much VHS experience as I'm used to working with analog Betacam, digital Betacam and now some of the tapeless formats.