Mag 515 to Motorola rng150N - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-06-2012, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rob_Chew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Suggestions for hookup. I just bought a Mag 515 and want to hook it up to a Motorola rng150N that is currently connected via HDMI to my HDTV. I understand the Motorola does NOT employ the 16:9 WS broadcast flag and a converter would be needed. Even though the rng150n has component outputs, I've been told it will not simultaneously output both at the same time (HDMI & component). Is does have composite A/V outputs. Hers is what I'm trying to do:
Record HDTV channels in 16:9 using the Mag 515 as a slave to the STB. Which of the converters mentioned in Wajo's 1st post should I use between the Mag 515 and Motorola, and will the converter also remove the copy flag on premium
HD channels?
Rob_Chew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-07-2012, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 80
No real easy to do what you want. Probably the easiest way(if you are OK forgoing HDMI and use component) would be a 1 in 2 out component distribution amp. I believe they start ~$50. One side would go to your TV, the other to your component-to-S-video converter. Component would still carry HD to your TV and if you wanted 5.1 you would need to use optical(or coax).
Another option is to use a 1 in 2 out HDMI amp. One side would go to your TV and the other to a HDMI-to-S-video converter.
jjeff is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-07-2012, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rob_Chew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks jjeff for your reply. Is this an example of the 2-in-1 HDMI dist. amp. you are referring to? http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Distribut.../dp/B004CHZOXK
Rob_Chew is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-07-2012, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Yes that one will work or any of these from Monoprice, a forum sponsor who is very good to deal with.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...01&cp_id=10113
Monoprice sells a inexpensive component to S-video converter but I don't think they sell a HDMI to S-video converter. I bought my HDMI to S-video converter from Amazon and I think Wajo has a link to it in his sticky thread.
Actually it looks like MP now sells that type of converter(but it's currently out of stock) here's a link, it's the second item on the list.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/se...verter&x=0&y=0
jjeff is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off